Sound issues when Identity Shield is set to High on HTTP

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by SweX, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    So I have been trying to track down this issue for a while and I haven't been able to figure out why I am not able to hear sound on sites like YouTube (basically any video stream on any site)

    But just now I thought what the heck why not try to lower the Identity Shield HTTP settings back to Low again. (I put it to high a while back) And YES it worked the sound came back :thumb:

    After that I put it back on High and same result no sound, after that I lowered it to Medium and the sound works fine on Medium as well.

    So Medium seems to be the highest setting I can have if I want to hear sound.

    Just to clarify this is on HTTP not HTTPS. I got HTTPS on Maximum without issues.

    And of course this has to be a bug yes?

    This is on 32Bit XP Home SP3 Fully updated, browsing with Safari 5.0.5 (not the latest Safari but it works best for me)

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Also no song starts to play on GrooveShark when I got the Identity Shield HTTP set to High.
    But they start playing just fine when it's set to Medium.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It works fine for me on FF 6.0.2, Opera 11.51 & IE9 http://grooveshark.com/ HTTP site and set to HIGH! Win 7 x64 o_O Maybe OpenDNS?

    TH
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I can't see how this could be an OpenDNS issue, since it works when it's set on Medium :doubt:
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Ok what is your OS and 32bit or 64bit and do you have any other security software running in realtime? Because I play that website with no problems with the 3 Browsers and HTTP set to HIGH! Good tunes on that site also thanks!;)

    TH
     
  6. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I posted that in my first post. 32Bit XP Home SP3 Fully updated, browsing with Safari 5.0.5 (not the latest Safari but it works best for me)

    No other Security running in Real-Time only WSA.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just for a test I set mine to MAX HTTP and rebooted and checked my settings and it stills plays fine so maybe you need to contact the support inbox? https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp? Can you try IE and reply with the version you have to see if it works?

    TH
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I just tried with IE8 and it works fine on High. The songs starts to play as they should :thumb:
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So it's an issue with WSA and Safari maybe it's best to contact the support inbox! ;)

    TH
     
  10. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I guess I got no choice, I'll do that when I got time, Right now I want music ;)
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Got to have Tunes! :thumb:

    TH
     
  12. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Indeed, and High Quality Headphones, Sennheiser all the way :thumb:
     
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    As a test, I went to this site Dig Music, that I use sometimes when I want to listen to background music.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. slxplovs

    slxplovs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    This issue has now been reproduced by Prevx/Webroot QA and appears to be a general issue when the HTTP filter is set to MAX, at least for Safari.

    If anyone experiences the same issue with any other software please do report it.

    Thanks.
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I can confirm this as well - we will have it fixed in the next update.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  16. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Thank you PH. And slxplovs :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.