Sophos Single User Edition : Myth or Fact ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vijayind, Oct 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Have been looking for AV suites for my upcoming Vista x64 based system. Since Sophos had advertised how their HIPS isn't affected by PatchGuard, I thought Sophos would be the best fully functional suite for x64.

    So my immense sadness, on sophos.com I found that they only provide 5-user products that are too expensive for my liking.

    Then I stumbled upon this :
    http://www.morganwylie.com/sophos/single_user.html

    So is there really a Sophos Single User Edition ? Whats the price ...
    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Sophos is using user-mode hooking. To me thats pretty useless. If you play in the same sandbox as the malware, you will loose.
     
  3. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    See:http://www.betanews.com/article/Sophos_Microsoft_Doesnt_Need_to_Open_Up_PatchGuard/1161379239

     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,898
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Even as a single user edition the price is a bit high
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    for that price on the UK sophos site i think you can get a 5user license.
     
  6. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    So it looks like we are back to 5 user pack again !!
    Thanks, Bigc & Lodore for your help.

    Guess, the Sophos Single User Edition continuous to be a myth ...
     
  7. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    I think you buy Webroot with antivirus you will get Sophos as the antivirus scanning engine. Much cheaper than buying a single sophos licence.

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,089
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The OP is interested in the HIPS functions of Sophos, not the AV engine......With Webroot you don't get the HIPS of Sophos.
     
  9. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Jlo, Firecat was spot on. I am interested in the Sophos HIPS which can work without interfering with PatchGuard on Vista x64.

    Thanks for the info.:thumb:
     
  10. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Ok sorry.

    Should have read the post more carefully!

    Best wishes

    Jlo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.