Sophos Single User Edition : Myth or Fact ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vijayind, Oct 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Have been looking for AV suites for my upcoming Vista x64 based system. Since Sophos had advertised how their HIPS isn't affected by PatchGuard, I thought Sophos would be the best fully functional suite for x64.

    So my immense sadness, on sophos.com I found that they only provide 5-user products that are too expensive for my liking.

    Then I stumbled upon this :
    http://www.morganwylie.com/sophos/single_user.html

    So is there really a Sophos Single User Edition ? Whats the price ...
    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Sophos is using user-mode hooking. To me thats pretty useless. If you play in the same sandbox as the malware, you will loose.
     
  3. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    See:http://www.betanews.com/article/Sophos_Microsoft_Doesnt_Need_to_Open_Up_PatchGuard/1161379239

     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Even as a single user edition the price is a bit high
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    for that price on the UK sophos site i think you can get a 5user license.
     
  6. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    So it looks like we are back to 5 user pack again !!
    Thanks, Bigc & Lodore for your help.

    Guess, the Sophos Single User Edition continuous to be a myth ...
     
  7. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    I think you buy Webroot with antivirus you will get Sophos as the antivirus scanning engine. Much cheaper than buying a single sophos licence.

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The OP is interested in the HIPS functions of Sophos, not the AV engine......With Webroot you don't get the HIPS of Sophos.
     
  9. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Jlo, Firecat was spot on. I am interested in the Sophos HIPS which can work without interfering with PatchGuard on Vista x64.

    Thanks for the info.:thumb:
     
  10. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Ok sorry.

    Should have read the post more carefully!

    Best wishes

    Jlo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.