Something weird!

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by riftrock, Oct 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. riftrock

    riftrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I am very new here, but hopefully someone can give me some info:

    When I open up IE or any window (XP), such as control panel, the damn calculator pops up! Every time.

    I do extensive web design and heavy surfing daily so it is quite an annoyance--but I fear it could be something worse. A worm or trojan for example?

    ANY! information will be appreciated. I googled the topic with no luck.


    thanks,
    Jason
     
  2. riftrock

    riftrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Oh! and I have Norton, updated, and have run it. As well as spybot... if that helps?

    -Jason
     
  3. riftrock

    riftrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Update:

    When I open IE or a window.. "test.exe" pops up in my Processes tab when I do Control-alt-delete (when the calculator pops up).

    Sounds fishy--please help!

    -Jason
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  5. StevieO

    StevieO Guest

    Hi riftrock,

    It does sound fishy ! I would try renaming test.exe to test.rem first and see what happens.

    Also i would cautiously follow up these leads too.


    What is it?

    Windows Nt Certification Test.exe is a file associated with the W32.Mexer.E@mm virus

    What does it do?
    W32.Mexer.E@mm is a mass-mailing worm that also spreads through several file-sharing networks.

    When W32.Mexer.E@mm is executed, it performs the following actions:

    http://forum.iamnotageek.com/archive/topic.php/t-76171.html

    http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.mexer.e@mm.html


    StevieO
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2005
  7. riftrock

    riftrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I don't have those files in my Windows...

    I honestly have no clue what's going on here. It started out of the blue.

    Anymore info will be greatly appreciated!!


    -Jason
     
  8. riftrock

    riftrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    It APPEARS to have been fixed. I finally got pissed off enough to get Norton 2006 and all of the updates. It seems to have made it go away.

    I had 2005 with the updates, but it didnt work.


    Just a heads up for everyone out there.

    Thanks everyone for the help and input.

    -Jason
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.