Something that was blocked by Sygate, wont let me backtrace the IP

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Comp01, Sep 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Comp01

    Comp01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    638
    09/06/2003 21:59:16   Blocked   UDP   Incoming   0.0.0.0   68   255.255.255.255   67      4   09/06/2003 21:58:49   09/06/2003 21:59:17   Block_all   

    I tried to backtrace it, but it said it was a "Invalid IP for backtracing." or something, I have about 3 or 4 of them like that. Just wanna make sure if its safe (It was blocked, but still)
     
  2. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Hi Comp, this was discussed some at this thread:

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12832

    If the link doesn't work, go to Other Firewalls section, about midway down. Hope this helps.

    Best Regards, Rick
     
  3. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi Comp01

    The problem you encountered with the backtrace is that the 0.0.0.0 is your own system, and the 255.255.255.255 is just a broadcast address. What you are seeing blocked is just DHCP/Bootp broadcasts likely when your system is renewing it's IP. Nothing to worry about.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.