Someone help - Please!!!!!

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Jason, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jason

    Jason Guest

    Hi, i downloaded TSD for the free 30 day trial and i think its a most excellent program. I have a problem though. I am on AOL and when i download the update, it downloads but then nothing happens. I did this like 5 times in a row. Then i went and found it and it had an AOL icon. Then i tried to open it and it said not supported by AOL. I want to buy this great suite. But i want to know if the automatic update feature that trial people cant use would get rid of the update which is the aol thing so i cant update so it would update like it should normally. Should i uninstall it before i buy TDS and then install it again to get rid of the update which is AOL icon? If anyone can help, thank you.
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Jason,

    Well, as you've said, the update process is manual while you are evaluating TDS. Let's make sure first you can get this working... You have to download the updates file (as you've done), then once it is downloaded you have to move it into the main TDS folder. You can't really "open that file" because it's a specially coded file that only TDS can read and use.

    Take a look again at the manual update instructions at the DCS site:

    http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=update

    Either do a Save As... and save the radius file directly in your TDS folder, over-writing the existing older version that is already there, or move the file you've already downloaded from where ever it is (the AOL \download\ folder?) over into the TDS folder.

    As for the "AOL icon" that is simply because there isn't a file association for a .TD3 file on your system. The file really isn't an AOL file, it's just AOL is the default icon for unknown files on your system.

    As for once someone has bought it, it'll all run automatically without a problem and the file icon won't matter anyway.
     
  3. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Hi Jason.

    When you donload the update you should be out of TDS and you should place the downloaded file within the TDS directory (wherever you installed it). It will prompt if you want to overwrite the original file, say Yes and then relaunch TDS and you should be good to go.

    My current radius database shows the following values

    15:48:48 [Radius] Loading Radius Advanced Scanning Systems ... <R3 Engine, DCS Labs>
    15:48:57 [Radius] ? Radius Advanced Specialist Extensions on standby for 13 trojan families
    15:48:57 [Radius] ? Systems Initialised [28856 references - 9857 primaries/8224 traces/10775 variants/other]
    15:48:57 [Radius] Radius Systems loaded. <Databases updated 16-10-2003>
    15:48:57 [Radius Update] Update complete.

    Hope this helps

    [late edit - Lol ! LWM beat me to it again! ]
     
  4. Jason

    Jason Guest

    Thank you very much for the quick replys Low and Dan. I appreciated them very much. I did move it to the TDS radius thing but it had an AOL Icon already there and i overwrote it like the directions on the website said. But it still had the AOL Icon. Anyhow ill just buy it soon hen everything will be great. Thanks again for the quick responses.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.