Some people, are finally starting to figure it out.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by trjam, Jul 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

trjam Registered Member

What is different today, against 5 years ago. "You are free to fill in the rest as you see fitting."

This is a thread to speak your piece about security and how it has or hasnt evolved. No restrictions, except the ones already in place by Wilders. Leave product names out and speak about what works, what doesnt work, and what it will take to meet the future head on.

2. ccsito

ccsito Registered Member

I am sure the others will have lots to discuss about your stated topic. As for me, I am essentially using the same security software items that I have been using since 1999 (AV, firewall). I added antispyware in 2006. I've come across malware since going online back in 1996, but so far my computers have never locked me out completely and have never had to reformat or have a HD crash. The only time that I had to replace or remove security programs is due to obsolesence by the software vendor. The main difference from 5 years ago is that a lot of crappy software writers have shown up in the WWW population. :argh:

3. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

my security aproach today is very different than was 2 to 3 years ago,where i have to wait for a virus signiture to cure a virus,now no more scaning for me
    save me some time from everyday updating the data base to be secure and a weekly scaning.no moreof that.sandboxing/virtualization is my new way of protecting my computer and data.;)

4. AKAJohnDoe

AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

Not much difference for me in 5 years. I still have today, as I did 5 years ago:
    1. A Router/Firewall in place
    2. A Software Firewall that permits easy configuration of outbound connections
    3. No Instant Messaging clients installed