Some Geswall errors for me.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Ohmy, Jul 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,
    I'm trialing Geswall, and I have some problems.
    When I run some programs, it constantly freezes.
    When I double click, or use "run isolated"
    the computer still freezes.
    Actually only the background freezes, I can do anything else.
    Whats wrong? Do I have to make a rule for it?

    Thanks in advance,
    Ohmy

    P.S putting the security level to "low" solves the problem though;
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2008
  2. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Sandboxie and Geswall do not get along.
     
  3. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Its not sandboxie,
    I didn't even install it,
    because whenever I try to,
    it freezes;
    anyone having a same problem?
    constantly freezing?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2008
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    sometimes by cleaning your cache and internet explorer history helps alot.cause GeSwall isolates internet explorer.
    try that and you will see and let me know.
    also what other security software are you runing?
     
  5. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi,
    I always clean my IE history and cache with Ccleaner.
    I think it's the problem with GW.
    I was only using GW when I had that issue.
    Any solutions please? :(
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    are running a software firewall?
     
  7. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Am using a Vista built-in firewall.
    Because I don't like messages nagging me.
    I can't find any firewall that doesn't.
    Thats why I like Geswall, however, it doesn't work for me anymore. :mad:
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    Ohmy also check in program files for any related file junks,for example
    left overs from other security softwares.and then clean those files.
    for example if you see you have any traces deletes those that you no longes need or exist.for any security software that you previously downloaded in the past try to clean those so you dont have any useless traces.that may help.
    one time i fixed and isue i had with one of my security software and check in program files and gues what comodo left some garbage in the program files and after i deleted those traces from it the isue was fixed.;)
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    but not worry buddy if GeSWall doesnt work for you there is an alternative
    and that is DefenseWall Hips.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    give a second i will go to geswall homepage to see if geswall is compatible with vista.
     
  11. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    jmonge,

    Thanks :)

    I'll give it a another shot.

    BTW, I like your security setup ;)
     
  12. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    It is compatible :)
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Yes, I experienced a hanging/freezing problem when trying to install GeSWall on one of my computers. It really puzzled me because it installed so easily on the other machine. I emailed tech support and got great support. Turned out to be a driver problem. Support was able to diagnose the problem after I sent them a memory dump file. Give 'em a try. gswsupport@gentlesecurity.com
     
  14. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Hi, and thanks :)

    I'll give it a shot.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it is vista compatible.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    they both run well in my pc plus remain fast and secure:D
     
  17. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Oh, I found out the reason.
    It was UAC. If I set it in to LUA, then the same thing happens again and again. But when I turn it off, it works perfectly.
    Wow, what a dillema. :doubt:
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thats good you are up and runing with GeSWall.;)
     
  19. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Geswall was nothing to write home about IMO, SandboxIE floors them all and he is a masterful and talented programmer. Tzuk :thumb:
     
  20. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Nahhh, I rather turn on the UAC, and get something else. ThreatFire maybe..

    Yea, maybe I'll just get use to using SandboxIE
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    you know EASTER SandBoxie+DefenseWall is my set up and it is very good to
    satisfy my need and if i could add GesWall i will but i know for sure i will screw up.i like all kind of sandbox,policy sandbox or virtualization software;)
    even the worse sandbox can do better than any antivirus out there.but those 3 are the best in my own oppinion.:D
     
  22. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ohmy,

    When you are loooking for an easy application, have a look at Haute Secure. Besure to create a restore point first and log-off and log-on, because it is still in beta (for over a year nearly).
     
  23. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,632
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    The truth is not all softwares, especially security app are created equall. Thats just a sad fact of life. I wanted so awful bad to finally use GesWall but it was far more trouble then SandboxIE who i feel has a very good corner on this technique. He is immensely talented and nothing rattles that guy. Some developers are simply gifted, bottom line. Others, try as hard as they may, just fall short time and again. And maybe their technical resources they have to draw on aren't as complete as they wish them to be, so they do the best that they can, Thats why i don't knock a product because they suffer from limitations that others have moved farther ahead on and their end product results in complete satisfaction, and so i see SandboxIE in that elite few.

    But no matter, you're in the right meeting place to satisfy your every security need.
     
  24. Ohmy

    Ohmy Guest

    Thanks guys for your replies.
    I think Geswall just isn't working for me.
    I tried out DW, but it wasn't working for me either.
    Oh, well, better find a software that is unintrusive :)
     
  25. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Indeed your opinion :p , test of Aigle proofs differently :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.