Some AV cannot detect JPEG exploit mutations

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mele20, Oct 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,157
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hey Mele, how about being a pal & summarizing that report? It's all in italics, plus much techno-babble, so my small brain needs help.

    shalom... bellgamin
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,901
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It looks like scanning the jpeg2 file only mcafee symantec and trendmicro detected it. but the jpeg 1 file was detected by most av's
     
  4. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    This is exploit and not a virus! Patch your system and you won't be vulnerable.


    tECHNODROME
     
  5. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To everyone from Firefighter!

    The first exploit was actually detected by many av:s. These av:s that were in VirusTotal plus AntiVir and DrWeb for instance.

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     

    Attached Files:

    • II.gif
      II.gif
      File size:
      11.9 KB
      Views:
      146
  6. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To everyone from Firefighter!

    The second exploit was also detected by many av:s. These av:s that were in VirusTotal plus AntiVir and DrWeb.

    PS. Even AntiVir detected both of these when it's so famous to NOT detect Exploits!

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     

    Attached Files:

    • b.gif
      b.gif
      File size:
      11.8 KB
      Views:
      146
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well does anyone use Windows Update here!? Huh. Even Jasc released patch (via PSP9 AutoUpdate) for their Paintshop Pro 9...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.