Some AV cannot detect JPEG exploit mutations

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mele20, Oct 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hey Mele, how about being a pal & summarizing that report? It's all in italics, plus much techno-babble, so my small brain needs help.

    shalom... bellgamin
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It looks like scanning the jpeg2 file only mcafee symantec and trendmicro detected it. but the jpeg 1 file was detected by most av's
     
  4. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    This is exploit and not a virus! Patch your system and you won't be vulnerable.


    tECHNODROME
     
  5. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To everyone from Firefighter!

    The first exploit was actually detected by many av:s. These av:s that were in VirusTotal plus AntiVir and DrWeb for instance.

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     

    Attached Files:

    • II.gif
      II.gif
      File size:
      11.9 KB
      Views:
      145
  6. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    To everyone from Firefighter!

    The second exploit was also detected by many av:s. These av:s that were in VirusTotal plus AntiVir and DrWeb.

    PS. Even AntiVir detected both of these when it's so famous to NOT detect Exploits!

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     

    Attached Files:

    • b.gif
      b.gif
      File size:
      11.8 KB
      Views:
      144
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well does anyone use Windows Update here!? Huh. Even Jasc released patch (via PSP9 AutoUpdate) for their Paintshop Pro 9...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.