Softwarepursuits or Horizondata

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by mrhero, Jun 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    I've been using trial of Bootback. I want buy a license.

    1. Which one should I buy license from?

    2. If I buy from Horizondata, can I migrate my Bootback snapshots to Horizondata's Firstdefense?
     
  2. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Hi, i can only speak for BootBack from Software Pursuits,important thing here is resellers service,must admit their problemsolving attitude is second to none,fast reply and their fixes were always that good, so i'm happy with them.
     
  3. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    If a developer or someone answers my second question, I can decide the first one.
     
  4. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Yes, it's the same, only another name. :rolleyes:

    I had BootBack previously on my laptop, but bought and installed FirstDefense afterwards.
    My snapshots were picked up by FirstDefense. :)
    Bootback was installed on my second machine and at that time when I bought it, it was a bit cheaper compared to FD.

    I don't know if that price is still the same though. :doubt:
     
  5. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
  6. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    I want to buy from Horizondatasys. Could anybody tell me what is the painless method to migrate from Bootback?
     
  7. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Uninstall Bootback, reboot and install FirstDefense. :)
     
  8. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    Won't I loose my other snapshots with this method?
     
  9. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    No, but make sure to uninstall the Bootback software and not the rest.
    I've done it in the past, so it should work. :)
     
  10. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    When uninstalling, you are given the option to keep snapshots.
     
  11. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    That's what I wanted to say. :) ;)
     
  12. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    Thanks all of you
     
  13. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    My pleasure mrhero. ;)
     
  14. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Why all the hassle to switch from software pursuits to Horizondata ?different companies but same product,i have never any reason to discard there superby customers service so i stay with software pursuits !!!
     
  15. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    I also have a license for Rollback RX, so I don't want to change the vendor. And maybe in future they will found a way to install Rollback and Fdisr at the same system:D .
     
  16. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Hasn't Peter already figured out how to do that?

    Acadia
     
  17. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    So Peter can help Horizondatasys, their moderator has sent this message to their forum:
     
  18. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I'm using BootBack and EAZ-FIX which is the same as RollBack rx.
    Two different vendors but running great together on the same system.:)
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,043
    I guess I'll mosey over there.
     
  20. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    Thanks for that info. It now explains somewhat why my system failed to boot when the problem was experienced via Rollback Rx issues.

    FD-ISR still rules the roost on my systems and will stay that way untill Rolback Rx improves their code and compatibility issues.
     
  21. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Hehe that was from my thread :D. Silly mod stole it, anyway......As leapfrog announced horizon as being FD-ISR home it may be better as it seems leapfrog knows horizon more than software pursuits.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.