So, when is 64-bit really 32-bit?

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware beta forum' started by tcv, May 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tcv

    tcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Hey folks,

    I am confused by something. I have two workstations which will not allow an install of AVG Antispyware claiming that the systems are "64-bit" versions of Windows. They are absolutely not. They're both running XP Pro Sp2 on Pentium 4 CPUs.

    Why would this be coming up?

    Cheers,

    Mike Whalen
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    There is a 64 bit vers. of XP as well as a 64 bit vers. of the Pentium IIII. Just out of curiosity, when you right click on My Computer and then click on properties how does it describe your processor? My AMD is correctly labeled as a 64. I am guessing Pentiums would be labeled similarly. :rolleyes:
     
  3. tcv

    tcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Hi ThunderZ, thanks for replying.

    I thought that might be the case, but My Computer just shows it as a plain-vanilla Pentium IV and WCPUID shows it as the same.

    I even thought that maybe DEP was on and THAT was tripping it up, but if it's enabled, then XP shows no sign like it usually would.

    As far as I can tell, there's nothing 64-bit about these two systems in the slightest.

    Cheers,

    Mike...
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Now you have me scratching my head as well. You may want to read\post at the AVG Forum.
     
  5. tcv

    tcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Will do. Thanks. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.