SnapDeploy - computer reboot automatically when session start

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by Asus, Apr 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Asus

    Asus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    hello everybody,

    To begin i'm apologize for my bad english i hope that you can help me the best you can and help me step by step.

    I use Acronis SnapDeploy v1.0.1307 install on a MS 2003 server domain controler ( 192.168.100.1) with DHCP service (192.168.100.2 to 192.168.100.253) on MS VirtualPC.

    I already have got an image ( windows XP PRO done with Cloneur Expert ) of the target computer ( DELL GX1 ) save on the server's HDD, and i do 2 differents templates to deploy on 2 target computers ( 2 differents IP configuration and computer names to avoid troubles on the network ).

    When i boot the target computer with PXE they receive a IP from my DHCP ( 192.168.100.2 and 192.168.100.3 ), and i have the screen to select if i want to run SnapDeploy Agent or continue Windows.
    I select to run SnapDeploy Agent and a few minutes after i've got a screen of the session and the target computer wait for deployement.
    The 2 computers is display on the management console i choose the correct template and i deploy it on the target computers.

    The first time i do it, i work perfectly, i can deploy with multicast the 2 computers at the same time.

    But now there is a problem.

    I format the 2 target computers HDD ( because i believe that is not possible to deploy on a HDD not empty, if is possible please tell me ) .
    I want to retest the deployement on the same target computer but now when the session start, the computer shutdown automatically and i don't anderstand why if I retry, it's the same problem.
    The 2 computers are no more display on the management console, but there are on the DHCP console.

    Morever, when i start the management console i've got this :

    Type | module | error ( code ) | date | Time |message
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Information | 100 | 0(0x640000) |19/04/2006|15h42:52|deploy server is starting

    if you need anothers informations, ask me.

    please help me as soon as possible because i need it in a few days.

    Thank you
     
  2. doxenberg

    doxenberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    South Florida
    In license management console, how many available licenses do you have?
     
  3. Asus

    Asus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    i don't believe that the problem come from the licence because several licences are available
     
  4. doxenberg

    doxenberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    South Florida
    Very well, then, in your post you state you are running build 1307 of Snap Deploy. Try installing an upgrade to build 1330 and let us know what happens.
     
  5. Asus

    Asus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    i've just upgrade to the lastest version and the problem still here !

    help !
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  7. Asus

    Asus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    this is the log i have with the procedure you give me to do on the target computer :

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log uuid="5E957F2E-B63C-61A9-3223-2D5A3C1AFD82" product="Acronis*Snap*Deploy*Agent" version="1.0" build="1307">
    <event id="1" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Network subsystem initialized succesfully"/>
    <event id="2" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Connecting to DeployServer..."/>
    <event id="3" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Have started looking for Deploy Server"/>
    <event id="4" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Found computer: 192.168.100.1"/>
    <event id="5" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Have completed looking for Deploy Server"/>
    <event id="6" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Have selected Deploy Server: 192.168.100.1"/>
    <event id="7" type="5" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Failed to connect to deploy server 192.168.100.1"/>
    <event id="8" type="4" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Failed to connect to Deploy Server"/>
    <event id="9" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Run exit"/>
    <event id="10" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Final exit"/>
    <event id="11" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="We are finish deployment with code 0."/>
    <event id="12" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Have started looking for Deploy Server"/>
    <event id="13" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Found computer: 192.168.100.1"/>
    <event id="14" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Have completed looking for Deploy Server"/>
    <event id="15" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Have selected Deploy Server: 192.168.100.1"/>
    <event id="16" type="5" module="100" code="0" time="1145628292" message="Failed to connect to deploy server 192.168.100.1"/>
    </log>

    This is the log i has on the server side
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log build="1330" product="Acronis*OS*Deploy*Server" uuid="527C2DA0-2780-46A3-AC98-789A5E9F99AC" version="1.0">
    <event code="0" id="1" message="Deploy server is starting..." module="100" time="1145619034" type="2" />
    <event code="0" id="2" message="Host '192.168.100.2' query for deploy" module="100" time="1145619564" type="2" />
    <event code="0" id="3" message="Session 'Default': Join client '192.168.100.2'" module="100" time="1145619564" type="2" />
    <event code="0" id="4" message="New script session 'Session 1' was added" module="100" time="1145619684" type="2" />
    <event code="0" id="5" message="File '\\2003SERVERACRON\IMAGE\GX1XPPROv2.tib' is accepted to download from FileServer as '2558450569'" module="100" time="1145619684" type="2" />
    <event code="0" id="6" message="Session 'DELL-GX1-172.24.110.192 13/04/06': Join client '192.168.100.2'" module="100" time="1145619684" type="2" />
    <event code="0" id="7" message="Remove client '192.168.100.2' from session 'DELL-GX1-172.24.110.192 13/04/06'" module="100" time="1145619702" type="2" />
    <event code="1" id="8" message="Host '192.168.100.2' failed to deploy" module="100" time="1145619702" type="5" />
    <event code="0" id="9" message="Session 'DELL-GX1-172.24.110.192 13/04/06' is removed" module="100" time="1145619702" type="2" />
    </log>


    i see this lign at the end of the target computer log : "Failed to connect to deploy server 192.168.100.1"

    i recall that the deployement has already work 1 time and Acronis server are install on MS VirtualPC. I invite you to read again the post to know my configuration.

    thank you to help me asap
     
  8. doxenberg

    doxenberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    South Florida
    Hello Asus,
    I find it miraculous you were able to complete a successful deployment even once considering you are running the Snap Deploy Server on a VM. But I have been around long enough to know ANYTHING is possible :) What is the IP address of the computer hosting the VM?
     
  9. Asus

    Asus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    the IP of the physical machine is an adresse class B 172.24.xxx.xxx/24

    on the physical machine run 2003 server on virtualPC with IP 192.168.100.1/24

    i will try to install SnapDeploy on an another physical machine, i hope that this solution will fix this problem.

    I will keep you update for my problem.
     
  10. doxenberg

    doxenberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ok, so now we know your physical Network is on the 172.24 Network. But how is the host computer getting it's IP configuration? What I am asking is, the host machine on the physical 172.24 Network, what is the IP configuration of this computer? Where does the Routing between the 192.168.x Networks and the 172.24.x Networks take place?
    It seems to me if you have Routing and DHCP configured properly you should be able to run the Snap Deploy components on your desired subnet and still have a virtual PC on a different subnet communicate with the Server. The question I would ask is (I ask because I have never tried it yet, but would really like to know), when booting a virtual pc can you emulate a PXE booto_O If indeed you can, then even when booting to Snap Deploy from a virtual pc, if you have Routing and DHCP configured properly you should be able to have the client machine find your deployment Server, license Server, and image with no problem.
    From your virtual machine with IP 192.168.100.1 can you communicate (ping, telnet, etc.) with a computer on 172.24.x.x?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.