Snap restore , New feature? How?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by wokoenig, Oct 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hello Forum,
    I have bought TI 9 ( last version).
    The description on the Homepage tells about a new feature, call Snap restore.
    But how does it work?
    My backups are on another Partition, never I see an option to make a "snap resore". The Help is not helpfull.
    I need more information.

    However: sorry for my bad english :)
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    There is nothing wrong with your English :)

    As I understand it this feature allows the restoration of an image without having to reboot or close applications. If so I would expect that by simply doing a restore as normal (or recover or whatever Acronis are calling it in this version) and then not being told to shutdown, you are doing a "Snap Restore".

    Not sure this is a feature I would feel comfortable using :)
     
  3. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hello foghorne,

    A restore from my systempartition is only possible if TI reboot.
    No Systempartitions I can make a restore during working with XP.
    But this is not a new feature. TI 7 and 8 does the same.
    What is new on the "snap restore"o_O?
     
  4. Hannes

    Hannes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    The snap restore is a feature that requires the installation of the "acronis secure zone". Just had a look in the manual, havn't used that feature yet. If I got it right, you can start working with your computer while the restore still is in progress.
     
  5. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    It would be nice for Acronis to reply to this one. What exactly is Snap Restore and when does one know it is being used ?
     
  6. dscrap

    dscrap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    156
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=103113

    See my thread on Snap Restore.... It wiped my hard drive of all partitions. I was trying to use it to restaore an image of my operating system to my C:\ partition using Acronis TI boot F11... It failed and wiped the all of the other partitions leaving only the secure zone and unallocated space.

    I am using TI 9.0.0.2289. I would strongly suggest not using Snap Restore, not even clicking the selection of it from the restore wizzard or you'll be screwed. Hopefully this is just a bug that can and will be addressed in the next build, but only time will tell.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.