Snap Deploy Restore Problems

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by RCSH, Jul 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCSH

    RCSH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I have downloaded Snap Deploy 2.0. I was given a trial license. I also have downloaded Universal Deploy and a license. I installed Snap Deploy Management Console, License Manager, OS Managment Console and Universal Deploy. All of the above was installed on the Main Server.
    I am able to create a master image of another pc named pos2003 and store it on my Main server. I made a boot disk of a usb drive and boot another identical pc with it to restore the image on. All this is for testing.
    All seems to go well until the actual restore begins. The deploy manager sees the target pc, gets set to go, but then errors out with the following:

    Error 52 1(0x340001) 6/30/2006 12:22:01 Host'192.168.1.96' failed to deploy a(0x340001) | Tag=0x9c5a16066a60d39a|Failed to map bios disk '1' | Tag=-xa6ef0be19db5267c

    I will mention I am trying to restore to a pc with a raid controller in it. Using it for raid 1, mirrored disks if that is a factor. Other than that the hardware is identical, I have even used Universal Deploy and loaded the raid driver when prompted in the template. I don't think it is necessary, but I did. The bios does not show any hard drives because the raid controller has control of that.

    Any ideas? I would love to get this working.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello RCSH,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Complete System Deployment Software.

    Could you please do the following in order to create Acronis Snap Deploy Agent logs so that we could continue investigation on this issue (this should be done on a target computer)?

    - When the client side of Acronis Snap Deploy is starting up, wait for boot menu to appear and press F11. As you get the "Linux kernel settings" prompt, remove the "quiet" parameter and press OK.
    - Select Acronis Snap Deploy Agent.
    - After you get the command prompt enter:

    product /mode:demon /log-level:verbose /log:../tmp/problem.log

    and press enter.

    - Reproduce the problem.
    - After you get the command prompt again insert a diskette into the floppy drive and enter:

    mkdir /mnt/t
    mount -t vfat /devfs/floppy/0 /mnt/t
    cp /tmp/problem.log /mnt/t
    umount /mnt/t

    - Collect the problem.log file from the diskette.

    Then, please, continue with the following in order to create Acronis OS Deploy Server logs:

    - Launch Acronis Snap Deploy Management Console;
    - Select the "Manage Deployment" option;
    - Specify the credentials for connecting to the machine with Acronis OS Deploy Server and click "OK";
    - Click on the "Show operations log" button on the icon bar;
    - Select the date you need the log from (this should be the last one, which was created when creating Acronis Snap Deploy Agent logs) and click on the "Save log entry to file" (diskette) button;
    - Specify the path and the filename for the log file and click "Save".
    - Collect this log file too.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. neo4572

    neo4572 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I have exactly the same problem, and get the same error message. Is there a solution
     
  4. alex_cap

    alex_cap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all,
    i have had the same problem with Snap Deploy. For me the reason for all problems was USB-Stick. I've created a bootable cd and everything works fine.
    Hope I could help you.
    Regards Alex
     
  5. jroberts

    jroberts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I am having the same experience. Don't use USB drives. I hope they fix this soon.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.