Snap Deploy 1307 causes deployment to shutdown machine

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by joe90, Jan 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joe90

    joe90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Either by PXE boot or bootable CD,when selecting Snap Deploy Agent , Agent loads up then screen says "Connecting to Acronis OS Deploy Server, Available Netowrk Interface IP=169.254.56.53.." (Snap Deploy Agent Screen)

    Current operation Progress
    The Progress bar moves across slightly, then the screen goes blue with the Acronis logo, bottom right, then the server just shuts down.
    On the Deploy server log file records host has finished deployment !!
    But there is no data on the client.

    Deploy server is also the license server running win2003 SP1
    Both platforms are HP ML370G4.

    Any ideas ??
     
  2. jroberts

    jroberts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Are you running DHCP on your network? 169.x.x.x is not a valid ip.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello joe90,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Complete System Deployment Software.

    Could you please do the following in order to create Acronis Snap Deploy Agent logs so that we could investigate this issue (this should be done on a target computer)?

    - When the client side of Acronis Snap Deploy is starting up, wait for boot menu to appear and press F11. As you get the "Linux kernel settings" prompt, remove the "quiet" parameter and press OK.
    - Select Acronis Snap Deploy Agent.
    - After you get the command prompt enter:

    product /mode:demon /log-level:verbose /log:../tmp/problem.log

    and press enter.

    - Reproduce the problem.
    - After you get the command prompt again insert a diskette into the floppy drive and enter:

    mkdir /mnt/t
    mount -t vfat /devfs/floppy/0 /mnt/t
    cp /tmp/problem.log /mnt/t
    umount /mnt/t

    - Collect the problem.log file from the diskette.

    Then, please, continue with the following in order to create Acronis OS Deploy Server logs:

    - Launch Acronis Snap Deploy Management Console;
    - Select the "Manage Deployment" option;
    - Specify the credentials for connecting to the machine with Acronis OS Deploy Server and click "OK";
    - Click on the "Show operations log" button on the icon bar;
    - Select the date you need the log from (this should be the last one, which was created when creating Acronis Snap Deploy Agent logs) and click on the "Save log entry to file" (diskette) button;
    - Specify the path and the filename for the log file and click "Save".
    - Collect this log file too.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  4. joe90

    joe90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    DHCP Server is not working properly but if I force an IP address, I still get the same result. Have lodged a support request with requested info to tech support.

    In console, message displayed
    CSyncDSClient:QueryDeploy: We are client 8283352
    CSyncDSClient:QueryDeploy: create socket on Port:1024
    CSyncDSClient:QueryDeploy: Wait for deploy

    Nothing happens after this, guess I'll have to wait for support !!
     
  5. jroberts

    jroberts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Joe,
    I'm waiting too. And waiting. Were you running the previous build with success? I'm thinking of rolling back. I'm wondering if Acronis is simply stalling at this point because there is a problem with 1307 that they are working on. As a new customer I find it surprising how limited the tech support is. They don't say much, or respond with any reassuring explanations. PS: If anyone out there is having SUCCESS with 1307 maybe they could post just so we know it's not a global issue. I have a large deployment on hold. Next step for me is yelling at my salesman and seeing if the business office mailed the check yet.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello joe90 and jroberts,

    Could you please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? I will find out how the investigation of your issue is going.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  7. joe90

    joe90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your reply,
    Submitted ticket yesterday, but still waiting for a "Automated Email response"
     
  8. jroberts

    jroberts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Joe,
    Are you having any success with quiet mode off? I'm getting some successful deployments in that mode, but 100% failures in quiet mode.
     
  9. dellis75

    dellis75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Any resolution to this problem? I am experiencing the same problem and also have a planned rollout and need this to work.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dellis75,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Complete System Deployment Software.

    Please collect all the log files as I've asked in my previous post and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  11. dellis75

    dellis75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Actually, when I run in the logging mode I got a successful deployment. What gives? The system I deployed to doesn't have a floppy drive and I couldn't get the flash drive to mount. Wouldn't seem to matter as the deployment was successful. I also question how to collect log files when the problem is that the system shuts down during deployment?? I will try again after I find a floppy drive.


     
  12. doxenberg

    doxenberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    South Florida
    I had the same exact behavior with using Build 1307. It seemed as though after the Snap Deploy agent goes in to graphic mode there is some sort of Network disconnect and the client acquires an autoconfiguration IP of 169.254.x.x instead of a valid Network IP address.
    If I entered the Linux shell and entered the commands to capture a log file, then exited the shell and resumed graphic mode it would work fine.
    So, in the name of research, I would like to ask what type of Network connections did your target clients have? In other words, were they connected to a switch, individual wall drops, and so forth. I am also curious to know the gauge of Network backbone pipe...are you running FastEthernet, GBE, or other? What type of switch are your clients connected to? What is the make of the NIC in the target clients?
    Oh, and one more question....when you tried to deploy the image, were you using the Management Console directly on the deployment Server? Also, was the image created from the Mangement Console on the Deployment Server?
    Look forward to your replies...
    Thanks!
     
  13. jwhalen

    jwhalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Check out your switch config... you need to enable portfast on all ports that are connected to PC's... but be carefull you do not enable this on uplink ports or you may crash your whole network...


    BTW...check out the RFC's for info on the 169.x.x.x ip addresses... I belive you will find these are the ip addresses set aside for DHCP enabled nics that do not reach thier DHCP server...
     
  14. dcindallas

    dcindallas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Any news on this issue? I just installed today, and I'm seeing the same issue.
     
  15. doxenberg

    doxenberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    South Florida
    As posted a number of times in this thread you need to provide the Forum users with more information regarding your deployment environment for us to be able to help you. What type of Network backbone are you running (GBE, FE, etc)? How is your target computer connected to the Network (wall drop, switch port, etc.)? When attempting to deploy an image to a client how are you connected to the Management Console?
     
  16. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dcindallas,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Complete System Deployment Software.

    First of all, please download and install the latest build (1330) of Acronis Snap Deploy which is available at the Product Updates section at our web site.

    To get access to updates you should create an account then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please check whether the issue remains with the latest build. If it still persists then please do the following in order to enable mini-dumps:

    - Right click on "My Computer" and choose "Properties";
    - Go to "Advanced" tab;
    - Go to "Startup" and "Recover Settings";
    - Choose "Small memory dump" in "Write debugging information" box;
    - Close all the dialog windows by clicking OK buttons.

    Now, please reproduce the system shutdown and collect the mini-dumps created.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  17. cornhoulio

    cornhoulio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I have a very simular problem with build 1330.
    After I start the deployment the client just shutdown.
    I don't think that it is network related. However here is my setup:

    Server:
    Windows XP Prof. Sp2
    Windows-IP-Konfiguration

    Hostname. . . . . . . . . . . . . : stm-mo
    Primäres DNS-Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Knotentyp . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP-Routing aktiviert. . . . . . . : Nein
    WINS-Proxy aktiviert. . . . . . . : Nein

    Ethernetadapter LAN-Verbindung:

    Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
    Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine III Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physikalische Adresse . . . . . : 00-80-91-3F-05-B7
    DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
    IP-Adresse. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.128.21
    Subnetzmaske. . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP-Adresse. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
    Subnetzmaske. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Standardgateway . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
    192.168.10.1

    The DHCP range is 192.168.10.100 - 192.168.10.110
    The switch is a Netgear FS-108 100/Mbit. I also tried a crosslink cable without success.


    Here is my problem.log:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log uuid="91D46907-3AD6-687E-8DDF-E91E424627D1" product="Acronis Snap Deploy Agent" version="1.0" build="1330">
    	<event id="1" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Network subsystem initialized succesfully"/>
    	<event id="2" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Connecting to DeployServer..."/>
    	<event id="3" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Have started looking for Deploy Server"/>
    	<event id="4" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Found computer: 192.168.10.1"/>
    	<event id="5" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Have completed looking for Deploy Server"/>
    	<event id="6" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Have selected Deploy Server: 192.168.10.1"/>
    	<event id="7" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Check available network interfaces"/>
    	<event id="8" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Have connected to the Deploy Server: 0080913F05420100"/>
    	<event id="9" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Have requested deploy script from the Deploy Server"/>
    	<event id="10" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449962" message="Wait for response on multicast address 239.10.12.2:0, interface count = 1"/>
    	<event id="11" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449984" message="Wait for response on multicast address 239.10.12.5:0, interface count = 1"/>
    	<event id="12" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449987" message="Wait for response on multicast address 239.10.12.5:0, interface count = 1"/>
    	<event id="13" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449990" message="Try to acquire license from server ''"/>
    	<event id="14" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="Size of 129:1 - 78,165,359"/>
    	<event id="15" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="Size of 130:2 - 78,165,359"/>
    	<event id="16" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="Run exit"/>
    	<event id="17" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="Final exit"/>
    	<event id="18" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="We are finish deployment with code 15."/>
    	<event id="19" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="Have selected Deploy Server: 192.168.10.1"/>
    	<event id="20" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143449993" message="Check available network interfaces"/>
    </log>
    
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2006
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cornhoulio,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Complete System Deployment Software.

    Could you please do the following in order to create Acronis Snap Deploy Agent logs so that we could continue investigation on this issue (this should be done on a target computer)?

    - When the client side of Acronis Snap Deploy is starting up, wait for boot menu to appear and press F11. As you get the "Linux kernel settings" prompt, remove the "quiet" parameter and press OK.
    - Select Acronis Snap Deploy Agent.
    - After you get the command prompt enter:

    product /mode:demon /log-level:verbose /log:../tmp/problem.log

    and press enter.

    - Reproduce the problem.
    - After you get the command prompt again insert a diskette into the floppy drive and enter:

    mkdir /mnt/t
    mount -t vfat /devfs/floppy/0 /mnt/t
    cp /tmp/problem.log /mnt/t
    umount /mnt/t

    - Collect the problem.log file from the diskette.

    Then, please, continue with the following in order to create Acronis OS Deploy Server logs:

    - Launch Acronis Snap Deploy Management Console;
    - Select the "Manage Deployment" option;
    - Specify the credentials for connecting to the machine with Acronis OS Deploy Server and click "OK";
    - Click on the "Show operations log" button on the icon bar;
    - Select the date you need the log from (this should be the last one, which was created when creating Acronis Snap Deploy Agent logs) and click on the "Save log entry to file" (diskette) button;
    - Specify the path and the filename for the log file and click "Save".
    - Collect this log file too.

    In case you do not have a floppy drive then please take a look at this previous post of mine. It describes how to save logs onto a USB flash drive.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  19. cornhoulio

    cornhoulio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Ok Kirill,

    once again.

    Problem.log:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log uuid="F9540B7D-2B25-4876-4F83-A15DC3652349" product="Acronis Snap Deploy Agent" version="1.0" build="1330">
    	<event id="1" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Network subsystem initialized succesfully"/>
    	<event id="2" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Connecting to DeployServer..."/>
    	<event id="3" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Have started looking for Deploy Server"/>
    	<event id="4" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Found computer: 192.168.10.1"/>
    	<event id="5" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Have completed looking for Deploy Server"/>
    	<event id="6" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Have selected Deploy Server: 192.168.10.1"/>
    	<event id="7" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Check available network interfaces"/>
    	<event id="8" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Have connected to the Deploy Server: 0080913F05420100"/>
    	<event id="9" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Have requested deploy script from the Deploy Server"/>
    	<event id="10" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539659" message="Wait for response on multicast address 239.10.12.2:0, interface count = 1"/>
    	<event id="11" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539684" message="Wait for response on multicast address 239.10.12.3:0, interface count = 1"/>
    	<event id="12" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539687" message="Wait for response on multicast address 239.10.12.3:0, interface count = 1"/>
    	<event id="13" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539690" message="Try to acquire license from server ''"/>
    	<event id="14" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539693" message="Run exit"/>
    	<event id="15" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539693" message="Final exit"/>
    	<event id="16" type="1" module="100" code="0" time="1143539693" message="We are finish deployment with code 15."/>
    	<event id="17" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539693" message="Have selected Deploy Server: 192.168.10.1"/>
    	<event id="18" type="2" module="100" code="0" time="1143539693" message="Check available network interfaces"/>
    </log>
    
    Server log:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log build="1330" product="Acronis OS Deploy Server" uuid="16342737-B99E-411D-ABBE-FB32CC7EAB9F" version="1.0">
    	<event code="0" id="1" message="Deploy server is starting..." module="100" time="1143532284" type="2" />
    	<event code="0" id="2" message="Host '192.168.10.100' query for deploy" module="100" time="1143532469" type="2" />
    	<event code="0" id="3" message="Session 'Default': Join client '192.168.10.100'" module="100" time="1143532469" type="2" />
    	<event code="0" id="4" message="New script session 'Session 1' was added" module="100" time="1143532494" type="2" />
    	<event code="0" id="5" message="File 'C:\Fo-Install\ST7000\pos_install7k.tib' is accepted to download from FileServer as '839464935'" module="100" time="1143532494" type="2" />
    	<event code="0" id="6" message="Session 'Deployment template 27.03.2006 12:33': Join client '192.168.10.100'" module="100" time="1143532494" type="2" />
    	<event code="0" id="7" message="Remove client '192.168.10.100' from session 'Deployment template 27.03.2006 12:33'" module="100" time="1143532504" type="2" />
    	<event code="15" id="8" message="Host '192.168.10.100' failed to deploy" module="100" time="1143532504" type="5" />
    	<event code="0" id="9" message="Session 'Deployment template 27.03.2006 12:33' is removed" module="100" time="1143532504" type="2" />
    </log>
    
    I have already submit a mail to the German support last week. there is no answer till now.
     
  20. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cornhoulio,

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request # (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out the reason for the delay. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  21. cornhoulio

    cornhoulio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Hello Kirill,

    I recieved a new build which fix the problem with the rebooting client before deployment. I can deploy the image to the clients now.
    But I run into an other problem that the clients are not booting the deployed image.
    I am out for now.
    We have to switch to a working solution becouse a rollout is planed.

    Thank you.
     
  22. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cornhoulio,

    We will certainly do our best in order to help you to resolve this issue. So if you would to proceed with the investigation then please describe the problem in more details.

    Could you please describe how the image was created before the deployment? What was the source system for the image? What exactly do you see on the screen when trying to boot the computer after the image was deployed to it?

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.