SN will not work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jcarerra, Dec 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    I got this after my purchase (sensitive data changed):
    ======================================
    Acronis True Image Home 2009 (4864-32)
    Support E-Mail: support@acronis.com

    The product may be downloaded from:
    Click here <http://wgt.digitalriver.com/wgt/.../tih_s_e.exe>

    Your license name is: J Carerra
    Your license code is: 4YNDH-(remainder deleted)
    --------------------------------------------------
    Billing Information
    --------------------------------------------------
    Order ID: 1221510788-9919-66348
    ======================================

    The install dialog declares the SN invalid (although here it is called a "license code". Using different terminology all over is a major cause of confusion.)
    The support site shows that particular SN as already being registered to my v11 previous product; therefore, it will not allow me to register 2009 Home--the SN is already registered.
    Support does not answer the email I sent thru web form.
    Chat refuses to connect.

    I paid for a product I cannot use. Nice.
     
  2. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    No responses? I sure need some help with this.

    Is there any way to get Acronis on the phone without premium charges? It seems if you buy their product, it ought to install!
     
  3. ToyMaker

    ToyMaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Posts:
    46
  4. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    I tried chat with both Firefox and IE7. Will try again today, and failing that, will try the get new serial number thing.

    I also this morning sent a reply to a support email from a few months ago on a different issue (citing this new issue in the text), since they aren't answering entries put in the web form and chat doesn't work for me. Will see if that works.

    My overall impression is that it is extremely hard to work with Acronis support. Oh, the purchase email included the support email address that, when you use it, says they don't do that any more.
     
  5. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Is it possible that the file you downloaded is version 11? You might check the file properties for the version information to confirm.

    Also note that for version 2009 the serial number is quite long. Mine is sixty-four characters plus hyphens.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2008
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Yes, TI2009 serial is 8 groups of 8 characters where previous versions were 5 groups of 5 characters.
     
  7. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    The license code provided in the email I obscured in the initial post was five groups of five characters. That email had a FROM line of "support@acronis.com." In the message headers, the first "Received from" was from a digitalriver.com server.

    As you can see in that email text, it specifically refers to 2009 Home. I think I am getting even more perturbed at buying this product from a company that can't even give you the correct codes to activate it. Can you get any more lame than that?

    Retry on chat produces:
    "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at server.iad.liveperson.net."

    Here's another really cool thing Acronis does to us:
    at https://www.acronis.com/my/products/exchange/index.html
    click on "Report a problem with my product"
    and it takes you to a sales page...
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/index.html
    It does not take you to a problem reporting page.
    This is the most aggravating, confused company I have ever dealt with.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2008
  8. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Not really. Going to that link, it asks you to put in your current serial number (which apparently I don't have for my purchased 2009). When I put in my current SN, it says, yep, that's a good one, continue to use it.
     
  9. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Properties>Details of tih_s_e.exe shows a version number of 12.0.0.9608. I have no idea if that is 2009 Home or not.
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Thats TI2009, not TI11.
     
  11. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Good. At least that is resolved. Now all I need is for Acronis to give me a valid SN and any other numbers the install will ask for. Then I will actually be able to use the product I bought.
     
  12. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Want to see just how much non-fun (beginning to believe the operative word is "impossible") it is to try to get a problem resolved with Acronis? Read this exchange...earliest message at the bottom...you will laugh. I cry. Anybody thinking of buying an Acronis product better read this carefully first.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Me ON 12-5-08:

    Your proposed solution below DOES NOT WORK.

    The serial number provided in the purchase email... [5x5 (deleted)].. is already registered to my version 11. Therefore, when I enter it on the site as you suggest, it does not give me a new serial number; instead, it says "this is a good number--continue to use it." Thus, I STILL CANNOT OBTAIN A SERIAL NUMBER TO USE THIS PRODUCT.

    I am HIGHLY FRUSTRATED that I have purchased this product, you sent me a bad serial number for the purchased one that is really an existing serial number, and you keep sending me fix instructions that don't work. What is the problem at Acronis that you create such problems and then cannot fix them?!

    Give me a fix for this that works!!

    ~Private communications removed per the Terms Of Service of this forum. - Ron~

    --------------- Original Message ---------------
    From: (deleted)
    Sent: 12/2/2008 7:56 PM
    To: customerservice@acronis.com
    Subject: new 2009 Home will not accept serial number

    new 2009 Home will not accept serial number.
    I have this data:
    SerialNumber= 5x5 (deleted)
    v10 : 5x5 (deleted)
    v11: 5x5 (deleted)
    2009Home : 5x5 (deleted)

    When install asks for the serial number, NONE of these work. I cannot install. I paid for a product that will not install. This is unacceptable. Answer immediately please.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2008
  13. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    The edit makes my post nonsense, and removes the critical parts showing the senseless Acronis responses.

    The reason is, I believe, that you want to protect Acronis by keeping people from actually seeing how stupid their support is.
     
  14. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Recently someone bought Home 2009 off of eBay from someone that said they were a reseller. The key is valid and can be used to install the software. However, when registering the software it states the number is already registered. They were told by support to get a refund.

    If you cannot get the number registered you cannot get updates or support. However, keep trying chat. When it comes to trying a phone call I think you'll find it very difficult.
     
  15. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Mine was bought from Acronis on a "special" but it was from them.

    The key they gave me in the purchase email is not valid, and is in fact the same key as my previous version. The product will not even install.

    Acronis support keeps repeatedly telling me to do things that do not work and to do things I've told them don't work or which have already been done. It is as if they do not or cannot read what is sent to them.

    Acronis support is the most aggravatingly dense and non-responsive of any company I have ever dealt with.

    Anyone thinking of buying an Acronis product should read the threads on this board before making their choice. I have a paid-for product I cannot use.
     
  16. jcarerra

    jcarerra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    I want to correct one thing said above that was wrong. My unable-to-use Acronis Trueimage 2009 Home was purchased from regnow.com, not directly from Acronis.

    regnow's final answer after many emails regarding the product they sold that I cannot use was:

    regnow: "We apologize for the inconvenience; unfortunately, we are unable to assist you with this issue at Register Now! customer service. Please contact the vendor directly for assistance with the product you have purchased. The License Code that was provided in your e-mail was provided to us by the vendor to provide to you."

    In other words, they take no responsibility for making a product they sell installable.

    I posted the completely non-responsive exchanges I've had with Acronis support previously in this thread, but the moderators removed almost all of it.

    Bottom line, what I paid is money down the drain. It can't be installed, and neither the seller nor Acronis care a twit.

    Anyone considering an Acronis product should read this forum carefully before deciding to purchase.
     
  17. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Sorry to hear that. The fella selling their products via eBay swears he's an authorized vendor and I have no idea how long he's been doing this. But Acronis send to get back in touch with this fella to get my situation squared away. Apparently they are saying he's not a legit reseller. Thought it was odd my license showed already registered when I went to register it.
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jcarerra,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    If the problem is still not resolved, please send us a Private Message with your e-mail address used to make the purchase.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.