Smart Security v4 too slow,

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Handries, Sep 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Handries

    Handries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Canada
    For some time now I had Smart Security v4.0.437.0 installed, and I found that this version slowed down my computer tremendously and also crashed occasionally while the CPU usage was regularly at or close to 100% during an on demand scan, which took hours to complete and even stalled the computer, so that I had to re-boot.
    As last week an updated version of Smart Security v3.0.694.0 was released, I decided to remove version 4 and replace it with that one.
    This made a great deal of difference, and my computer is now running normally again and the on demand smart scan completed in 56:02 minutes compared to over 5 hours in version 4 using identical settings.
    So I’ll think I stick with version 3 for now, as it uses the same updated modules as version 4, so I presume that I should have the same protection except I’m missing the additional components added to ver.4, which I was not using anyway.
    Just for the record my operating system is Windows XP Pro SP3 and the CPU is Intel Celeron 2.40 GHb, 766 Mb RAM.
     
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    When there is a problem like the one you were describing with version 4, I would typically suggest trying to reinstall the software. If there was a problem with the installation then it could cause strange behavior.
     
  3. Handries

    Handries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks WayneP for you advise, but I tried that earlier but it did not make any difference and so far I'm quite satisfied with version 3, as it also boots-up faster when I start the computer in the morning.
    So I'll patiently wait for a new update of version 4 to be announced, before I'll try that one again.
     
  4. Handries

    Handries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Canada
    WayneP On Second though I decided to follow your advice after all, and installed ESS version 4 again and you are right. after updating and configuring this program I ran a smart scan, which was finished after 44 minutes.
    So all's well that ends well.
    Thanks again for you advice.
     
  5. yokinchar

    yokinchar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Usually, After reinstall av program, we need to re-upgrade the virus definition.

    Is there a resolution to fix this.
     
  6. Handries

    Handries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Canada
    The best way I found is to open the main Update panel of the program and a manual update can be forced by clicking the Update Virus Signature database button in the NOD32 or ESS Control Centre.
    When necessary a correct and valid user name and password must be specified in the update setup panel the update server should be set to automatic selection (default setting) an Internet connection must be established at the time an update is performed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.