Smart Security thinks it is out of date

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by cjon, Dec 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cjon

    cjon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Currently, I have SS 5.2.9.1 installed with signature database 7830 20121223 installed (as of 12/23/12 1350 CST). SS says my virus signature is out of date, but when I check, it shows as being up to date and no update is forthcoming.

    See the attached screenshots.

    I'm assuming it actually is up to date and I am protected, but the red exclamation mark in my systray bothers me anyway.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    1, make sure that the system date is correctly set
    2, try restarting the computer
     
  3. cjon

    cjon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Date is correct. Time was within a second or 2. Rebooted.
    Same song, second chorus.
    Here's another screenshot. Note when it says I last updated, but also note the version of the current database.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    The latest version I have is 5.2.15.1 with signature 7833 (see below). Perhaps updating to this version may solve the issue. Just curious, have you done either a system restore or re-image lately? In the past, those things have created issues for me.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=337637
     
  5. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hello cjon

    Try to clear your update cache, then reboot. See here: how to clear update cache. If that fails to solve your issue, then try the good advice from Tomface , to uninstall your current version, and then download the newest version of Eset Smart Security 5.2.15.

    Regards, Janus
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012
  6. cjon

    cjon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Sorry for the delay getting back. I've been off enjoying the holidays. When I booted today, SS5 updated and when finished, said it was up to date. When I checked my version, it still says 5.2.9.1. When I told it to update, it says that is the latest. Guess I'll go to the website and see if I can get 5.2.15

    Anyway, thanks for the help. I seem to be running right for now.

    Final thought: Do I need to uninstall 5.2.9 before I install 5.2.15, or can I just install it right over the top of the existing version?

    Happy New Year, all.

    CJon
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  7. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    and run windows updates...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.