Smart Security 5 will not install

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Joejr, Dec 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joejr

    Joejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    I had a corrupt Smart Security 4 on this computer that would not unistall. I purchased SS5 yesterday and tried to install (Win7 32bit). After dozens of attempts, it fails every time. Errors messages include "Computer has not been restarted after a program uninstallation...." Not true at all. I've rebooted many times! I logged in regedit and got an error code of 2826. I submitted a complaint thru Eset but haven't heard back. I've reviewed many of these posts and nothing seems to work. I even tried the Safe Mode uninstall to clean out any remaining AV files. Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. Joejr

    Joejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks. I Did that earlier and it removed all my AV proggys. Still no luck.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what was your previous Av?
     
  5. Joejr

    Joejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    I was using Eset Smart Security 4.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Is the Base Filtering Engine service running ?
     
  7. Joejr

    Joejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    That's a good question! I'm not really sure. I ran sfc/scannow and it repaired all files but the install still fails. Is there an easy way to determine if bfe is running? I searched and found bfe.dll on my puter but I can't quite figure out if it's really running or not. I searched using services.msc and do not see it in the list. Nor does the Windows firewall work. I'm guessing the answer to your question is "no".
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Open the Control Panel -> System and Security -> Administrative Tools -> Services and search for "Base Filtering Engine" in the list. It is known that sfc does not repair BFE.
     
  9. Joejr

    Joejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    It's not there. I tried to perform a system restore back to last month but that didn't work either. The restore failed. I've run the Eset online scanner and removed a couple trogans a few days ago and Malware comes up clean too. My daughter complained a couple weeks ago when a link she clicked on popped up the red screen from Eset. Ever since then I have been fighting firewall issues. It appears that everything is clean but still can't install the new Eset.
     
  10. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Follow these instructions to get BFE back and install ESS then.
     
  12. Joejr

    Joejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks! I ended up restoring to a setting 2 months ago and got it to install. Thanks so much for the support!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.