Small detail question about bootable CD maker

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by act8192, Feb 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    TI v10, new build 4949.
    Must the CD be blank and never used before, i.e. totally NEW?

    Why do I ask?
    I only have experience from the first TI v10 issue, but I forgot how I did the bootable CD then. I have .ISO file, so perhaps I used that. Just can't recall. In any case, now with the new build, following the advice in the manual, I made a new one. I let TI write directly to CD-RW. Brand new one. That worked. It booted fine. It made subsequent backup image. It validated just fine.

    BUT, then I tried the .ISO route. AND I also REUSED a previously made good, Acronis disk. The CD burn was by some Sonic utility that came with my PC. I told Sonic, when asked that the disk contained data, to erase. It then recorded the ISO file. THAT DISK WON'T BOOT. Neither will one other trial over a previously recorded disc.

    What did I do wrong? The .ISO part or reusing the disc?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    You cannot reuse a non-rewriteable disk for this purpose.
     
  3. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    it was CD-RW = rewiteable
     
  4. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    You have to erase the CD-RW disc first before using it to create a new TI Boot Disk. I've used the same CD-RW disc for nearly 2 years. hehe
     
  5. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Using it for 2+ yrs was my goal as well.
    The disc was erased. And that is why I'm asking the question - hehe to you :)

    I'm not trying to be too picky, but I just want to nail down a sure procedure. And clearly something is wrong and I don't know what it might be.
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    As you used a CD-RW disk, I would say that you used the wrong procedure for burning a bootable ISO image to CD. This is very different to burning data to a CD.

    Sonic CD/DVD recording software is now part of Roxio so it's hard to say which Sonic utility you used to burn the CD-RW. Nevertheless, checkout the <Roxio procedure detailed in this article> to see if there is something that can be read across to Sonic.

    Regards
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello act8192,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that Menorcaman most probably right. You could check the below sites for the instructions on how to create a Bootable CD from the ISO image file:

    http://www.petri.co.il/how_to_write_iso_files_to_cd.htm

    http://www.bay-wolf.com/burnimage.htm

    If you wish to create the Bootable CD directly to disc (without creating ISO image) you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW disc.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I've used the media builder to burn the BootCd onto a CD-RW without any prob. I jsut pretend it's a CD. In earlier versions of ATI, one had to have a clean or erased disk. I think the current version ATI10 will erase. Let me check -- yep. if the disk isn't clean, ATI spits it out with a message and offers "erase" as an option. Click on ERase, it sucks the disk back in and then burns the CD.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.