Slow shutdown/logoff because of Nod32?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Lollan, Feb 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    Have a friend who is having said problems and having never experienced them myself, I thought I'd ask those who know best :)

    He's is pretty dissatisfied with the product for the given difficulties and ran a scan, which found nothing. Any known program conflicts? He claims to have uninstalled the product to remedy the issue, which makes it look like Nod32 is to blame, but I don't believe it.

    I first thought of bootvis, but I believe that only scans startup processes. Any ideas? Things to try?
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    What was his previous Anti-virus?

    Have him try repairing Winsock using the following Winsock XP Fix tool and then repair IMON

    Let us know how he goes...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. shanijee

    shanijee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    107
    Location:
    Faisalabad(Pakistan)
    i also got this problem
    when i install nod32 on any system computer shutdown after 4 or 5 minute
    i test nod on many system p3.p4
     
  4. shanijee

    shanijee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    107
    Location:
    Faisalabad(Pakistan)
    i also got this problem after panda antivirus
    trenmicro.ksa.norton.drweb not got this issue
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have not found a solution to this problem you are seeing, other than it is a Windows issue, and once broken only a format and reinstall would/will fix it.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    My friend is reluctant to reinstall at the moment, but mind me asking how Winsock fix would repair this? I've used it many times in the past for connection issues, didn't know it did much more than that?
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It can also repair conflict issues, as in slow start up and slow shut down after installing with ZoneAlarm.

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    You give a lot of cheers! I'm not legal to drink!

    /calls the authorities
     
  9. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    I take it that there aren't any known complications with Avast? He tells me he had that installed at the time, but it was disabled.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Rule of thumb is, not to have 2 antivirus programs installed on the same machine.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    Hey,

    correction, not more than one AV program, if the new AV don't let you install it only in "on-demand" scanner "mode". (like new KIS/KAV 2006, in which you can chose to install only on-demand scanner components, without on-access service module scanner, web-scanner, etc..)

    best regards,

    iNsuRRecTiON
     
  12. Kniht

    Kniht Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    This may be of no help, but I had the same problem. It took at least 5 min. for my PC to shut down.

    I went into event viewer>>applications and sure enough there was the ! inside the yellow triangle stating to the effect either a service or an application refused to give up it's rights to the registry during shutdown.

    I disconnected the ethernet cable and began a process of elimination. The way I discovered it was an application is I downloaded a free program called Regmon. It shows what's happening inside the registry in real time. The culprit was Spybot's "teatimer". Even after I had manually shut it down, Regmon showed it still running in the registry. Eliminated teatimer, now shutdown is back to normal.

    Also, check to see if your services are all either local or network. Anything other than these two can cause a hang in shutdown.

    NOD32, Ewido, Spybot, Spywareblaster, AdAware, Kerio4
     
  13. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
  14. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
  15. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
  16. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    last time I saw a problem like this, I was at the point of reinstalling and I tried registrymechanic - it DID cure this symptom, but might have been because of a different cause... it's worth a go though!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.