Skyrim Keeps Freezing

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Brandonn2010, Apr 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I've asked this on another forum but no one responded so I thought I would try here. For a few weeks Skyrim ran fine, but then it started freezing. It will freeze completely except for sound, and I have to use task manager to kill it.

    I already have disabled all auto-saving since that was a potential cause, but it didn't work. I have tried reinstalling it and my video card drivers, which are up-to-date. I also tried disabling Crossfire and it seemed like it had worked but then it froze again. I've tried disabling AppGuard even though there were no events in its log indicating it had blocked an action but still no luck.

    I'm not sure if there's anything else I can do or if it is just a problem with the game that needs a patch.
     
  2. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Have you installed anything before the freezing started? Are you on laptop or desktop?
     
  3. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Don't think I installed anything else before it started crashing. I know AMD's drivers updated. And it's a desktop.
     
  4. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Do you have all the patches installed?
     
  5. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Yes. Give me some credit :)
     
  6. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Check your CPU's fan, maybe it's full of dust. That happened to me once, and the source of the freezing is overheating.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    Anything showing in the Windows Event Viewer about it?
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    If you are using mods try without any.
     
  9. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
  10. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    @skudo12 - My temps are good and case is clean.

    @Cudni - No mods, other than the official higher-def texture pack, but it was happening before that.

    @stapp - I did check Event Viewer. I get Event ID 1002, that Skyrim crashed. I also noticed each instance had a preceding Information log, Event ID 1001, that reads:

    ---------------------------------------
    Fault bucket 2862746030, type 5
    Event Name: AppHangB1
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: 0

    Problem signature:
    P1: TESV.exe
    P2: 1.5.26.0
    P3: 4f6c9333
    P4: 2cf5
    P5: 2048
    P6:
    P7:
    P8:
    P9:
    P10:

    Attached files:
    C:\Users\Brandon\AppData\Local\Temp\WERD416.tmp.appcompat.txt
    C:\Users\Brandon\AppData\Local\Temp\WERD56E.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

    These files may be available here:
    C:\Users\Brandon\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\Critical_TESV.exe_3fb1db26cb80a73c829e6f7b58e311f5be5f6c5_0c29e037

    Analysis symbol:
    Rechecking for solution: 0
    Report Id: aac0cdff-8913-11e1-a971-90e6baca37fe
    Report Status: 0
    ---------------------------------------------
     
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    I'm afraid I'm out of my comfort zone here as I don't game plays. However a bit of googling with P1: TESV.exe shows many hits for Skyrim.

    Also a Wilders thread here

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=316832

    Perhaps with the details you have now The Skyrim forum may be able to offer advice?
     
  12. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I think I may have discovered something. I noticed with System Explorer and Process Hacker, that Skyrim's process "TESV.exe" shows up as a subprocess (I think), under "MOM.exe", which is related to AMD's Catalyst Control Center.

    So my theory is that CCC is causing problems with Skyrim. My question is if CCC is necessary? I'm thinking it might be for Crossfire but I'm not sure.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.