SKY, McAfee Offer.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Taliscicero, Jun 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    My ISP "SKY Broadband" Gives away a free Copy of McAfee security suite.

    I Just installed it to test since i haven't used any McAfee stuff in a wile.
    Anyone have any "Real life" Experience with the detection and removal that this program has?

    Or is it just like the old McAfee programs.

    Also don't link me to any testing pages, since i find user oppinion more important that tests, because as everyone knows real life is not a test.

    Could use input, thx.
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    it is a really heavy stuff for the system and it has a lot to do as far as cleaning ability. But if do not have to pay anything it would not hurt too much. try it and decide
     
  3. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Bah, i think i'm gonna drop it.

    First scan = 2 False positives.

    McAfee back to its old ways ;/
     
  4. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    As with any AV you will get mixed personal feedback. Some will tell you that McAfee runs as light as any other AV, others (like me) find it to be bloated. In any event McAfee's detection/removal rates are somewhat respectable, but in the end I feel that there are more robust, and free, solutions available. What works for me may not work for you, but in the end you have a wide assortment of AV and IS packages that you can trial.
     
  5. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London
    Mcafee comes preinstalled with most Dell pc's if I am not mistaken....set quite a few up for customers and they do not seem to complain...but then again if they get infected I am there to clean it up and install ..you know :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    Let's stay on topic and not push other software in these threads.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    nothing wrong with mcafee,

    sure, some people wont like it, as with all software.

    SkyBB also gave it me free, and when i move to my newest ISP on Thursday,
    O2BB also give me McAfee for free too.

    lol :shifty:
     
  8. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Yeah C.S.J seems like McAfee Cant sell there own product xD
     
  9. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    If you're sensible,have your security apps configured correctly there isn't as much of a difference between the top ones as some people would have you believe:-McAfee a good suite,especially for free!
     
  10. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    I agree, nothing wrong with McAfee.

    I wouldn't worry about two false positives either, depends on what it is reporting and what programs/games you have on your computer.

    If you use several portable programs for example, all unknown and written by a casual programmer, most AVs will flag these files.
     
  11. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I have used it for at least 1 year or more. My ISP gives it for free to me as well. I have had no issues. I do believe it is heavier on systems then others.

    But it is free and I use it.

    However, I would adjust the firewall to stealth and not use the default setting for that part.

    A system with a reasonable amount of Memory... it should not be to heavy.

    You ask for real life and there is my take. :)
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I was using McAfee from AOL and it didn't felt heavy at all. Detection wasn't all that bad either, they are quiet fast for more preveilant malware and they are usually the first to spot more "exotic" malware.
    False positives can be expected in any antivirus and unless really severe they shouldn't be the reason to give up on certain AV.
     
  13. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    McAfee on my machines is between WLOC and NIS as far as performance is concerned. I hadn't encountered any malware yet but it is because SiteAdvisor Plus prevents me from visiting sites that are known for installing malware on the computer. This is the major source of infections.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,422
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.