Size of Image doesn't match size on disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Peter Mac, Dec 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peter Mac

    Peter Mac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    I am restoring Acronis True Image 9 file to a new hard drive.

    On my backup disk the file is 23 GB. however, during the restore A TI 9 says the file is 40.30 GB. How can Acronis have the hard drive size set to 40 GB when it's only taking up 23 GB on disk?

    I'm trying to restore this 23 gb file to a 30 GB partition and I'm worried this erroneous reading by acronis of the file size will cause me some problems.
     
  2. pwillener

    pwillener Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    My guess is that the image file is compressed. You need to restore to a HD or partition that is at least the size of the original backup HD or partition.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If TI is telling you the restored image size is 40GB then you won't be able to restore it to a 30GB partition. However, if the 40GB is the original partition size then it might work, assuming the used space is less than 30GB. It's only taking up 23GB of space on your hard drive because TI compresses the data and just uses placeholders for the swap and hibernation files.

    For example: Your 40GB partition had 28GB used on it. In this case restoring to a 30GB partition would work.
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710

    To complete the example, your original drive/partition had 40GB capacity and 28GB of it was used/filled with files. The ATI image file might be only say 18GB because it is compressed and doesn't uselessly copy some of the uneeded sys files like a hibernation file. However, to restore the image of the 28GB of used filespace, you will need a drive/partition with room for at least 28GB.
     
  5. jelenko

    jelenko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    Just to confirm. If TI is reporting the size, it is the size of the original partition. If it's Windows Explorer reporting the size, you're correct - it would be odd [unless you've done one or more incremental backups.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.