SiteAdvisor

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fred128, Dec 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Firefox updated to version 2.0.0.1 and Siteadvisor doesn't work with it. I can't even find a paid version for the program on the Mcafee site....very disappointed.
     
  2. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  3. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    Not that big of a loss, IMHO. It was a good add-on until McAfee took it over. Personally, I got really tired of having to go through a commercial with them peddling their merchandise before it took me to the page referencing the site. Also, seems that the links it listed on Google were wrong more than half the time. I've seen known bad links listed as OK, and legitimate links listed in red as untrusted too many times for me to even deem to program usable as far as security. Also, the fact that it was in constant contact with McAfee monitoring every site I visited wasn't to my liking, to say the least. Also, Firefox is running twice as fast without SiteAdvisor taking up bandwith (on dial-up connection). I just wish these big companies would leave good programs like this alone (Norton & Sygate, for example). All they seem to do is turn the programs into bloated nightmares. Ok, got that off my chest...feel better now.
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Scandoo seems faitly fast. I think it just rates search results and I am still unsure of its accuracy. But it seems to do the trick. I am not sure if it works with FF 2.0.0.1.
     
  5. Green Giant

    Green Giant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    252
    SpoofStick doesn't work with Firefox 2.0.0.1 either. There was a message saying that this protection had been disabled when I installed the new Firefox.
     
  6. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    Which version of Siteadvisor are you running? I had version 25.0 and had no problems with it when I upgraded Firefox from 2.0 to 2.0.0.1. Since then, Site Advisor has automatically updated to version 26.0 and still works fine.
     
  7. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    What's wrong with the freebie 'SiteHound' which now works with Firefox?. I found it much better than Siteadvisor.
     
  8. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    From everything I've read, Sitehound is an excellent program. I didn't realize that there was a version that worked with the latest version of Firefox. I guess I'll search the FF add-ons and see if I can find it.
     
  9. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    You want find SiteHound as a add-on but you will find it here.
     
  10. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    I did some research on Sitehound over at CastleCops forums. From the user feedback, there seems to be quite a few problems associated with it. Am a little reluctant to try it until they get the bugs worked out. However, there is really no way of knowing if the "bugs" are the result of the software itself or lack of knowledge by the user, conflicting software, etc. Have any of you here experienced any problems with it?
     
  11. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    I hate McAfee. Did they REALLY have to make a paid version of something as simple as Siteadvisor? COME ON, that's ridiculous.
     
  12. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    I haven't had a bit of trouble from SiteHound conflicting with anything I have on my system. I'm running Win XP Pro. I only run SiteHound on IE only.

    I will also say that the author is very good to making sure that is something is wrong, he will get it fixed. That's been my experience with the product.
     
  13. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i found it pretty hard to digest as well...why on earth do you need to make it a paid version..
     
  14. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    People paying for ...
    Anti-phishing, anti-pharming, anti-spam, site advisory, popup blocking, cookie-blocking, or ad-blocking software
    ... have too much money on their hands.
    Mrk
     
  15. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    True, there are very good freebies for these tasks. Still, common sense > any site rating soft.

    Site rating/Safe searching:
    Dr. Web link checker
    Link Scanner Lite
    SiteHound
    SiteAdvisor
    Scandoo
    Blacklisting:
    PeerGuardian
    Protowall
    Blocklist Manager
    Bluetack Blacklists
    Hoster
    HostsMan
    HOSTS Manager
    eDexter
    MVPS HOSTS File
    hpHosts
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    its a shame that link scanner doesnt work with firefox and opera.
    if it did i might use it instead of site adviser.
    lodore
     
  17. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Link
    :thumb:
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yes i know i put my email addy in it.
    now waiting lol.
    lodore
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.