Site certificate error when renewing

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by NewlessClubie, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Hi,

    I'm trying to renew NOD32 and after clicking renewal (which takes you here http://www.eset.com/purchase/renewals.php) I put in my user name and email and I get a security error Unable to verify the identity of *.esetsoftware.com as a trusted site

    If I click cancel it forwards to: http://shop.eset.com/s.nl/sc.18/.f?cid=316213&lmq=1 but that seems weird.

    That's in Firefox 2, in IE 7 or FF 3 it simply auto-forwards with no certificate warning.

    If there's one piece of software you want to be sure is coming from a legit site, it's your AV so I'm a little hesitant to proceed :)

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  2. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    esetsoftware.com takes me to a site called Affinitext which is some sort of software for "Making Documents Intelligent". Terms of use page says

    I would be very suspicious of entering ANY details on this page.

    Having said that Googling Affinitext brings up many ESET / NOD sites...
     
  3. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    ESETSOFTWARE.COM is a domain owned by Anton Zajac of ESET LLC.
     
  4. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    ESET, LLC's IT department is working on the issue and the web page should soon go to the correct site.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  5. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    True but in these days of phishing sites and the like when a domain name says X but the content says Y i get suspicious. Esp when the content doesn't resemble the website at all...
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    As I understand it, it may take a while for the DNS update to propagate. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Hi Aryeh,

    It's still throwing the bad certificate error.

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I will check with ESET's web development team.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  9. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Some questions from our web development team:
    1. What is the exact browser type and version being used?
    2. What country are you located in?
    3. Upon clicking on the link that sent you to /purchase/renewals.php were you able to successfully validate? If so, what username (AV-####### or EAV-#######) did you use?
    4. At what specific URL (page) did he the error appear? If it is still occurring, can you provide a screenshot?
    Knowing the answers to these questions will be helpful in further investigating the issue.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  10. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Hi Aryeh,


    Here are the answers to your questions as well as screenshots.
    I think it's caused by the page redirect. In IE 7 it has a redirect message (screenshot attached)

    1. Firefox/2.0.0.17
    2. USA
    3. Yes, it's after I submit my username (starts with AV-) that the invalid certificate shows up. If I hit cancel, it goes to the URL below
    4. Here's the URl http://shop.eset.com/s.nl/sc.18/.f?cid=316213&lmq=1

    This is after choosing renewal from http://www.eset.com


    Thanks
    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  11. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    It should be fixed shortly.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  13. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
  14. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Are you still experiencing a problem renewing? If so, I would suggest calling the sales department toll-free at +1 (866) 343-3738 to purchase a renewal for your license.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  15. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Hi Aryeh,

    I went directly to an older saved URL I had in IE 7 and that allowed me to renew.

    One more question, I bought a 3 license pack and my order email says "ESET NOD32 Antivirus 3.0 (Home Edition) Renew 1yr, 3-User"

    But I got an email with only one license key and it says "You are hereby granted a license to use ESET NOD32 Antivirus on 1 computer(s) until 10/06/2009."

    Is that one license good for three machines or will I receive two more codes?

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  16. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    If you can send me the order number, email address associated with the order and username of the license (the part beginning with AV-####### or EAV-#######) via the forum's PM (private messaging) system, I can ask ESET's sales department about the order.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  17. NewlessClubie

    NewlessClubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks Aryeh. I emailed tech support and they confirmed it's good for three machines so I'm all set :)
    Thanks,
    Dave
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.