Simplewall-Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by co22, Oct 25, 2016.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    You were heard :)
     
  2. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks for the heads up! Nice. :thumb:
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    New Release:
    simplewall v1.6 (19 May 2017)
    http://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    md5, sha256 checksum
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
  5. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    Been using this little firewall and it seems to be quite good, at least for my needs, blockage of outbound connections.

    @mood Thanks for keeping us up to date.
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    :thumb:
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    New Release:
    simplewall v1.6.2 (24 May 2017)
    http://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    md5, sha256 checksum
     
  8. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    I've been using this tiny app, I like it.

    Today I went to use it as portable app on a different partition, not C drive/system drive. Now simplewall.exe isn't loading at startup.
    - Executable has admin rights.
    - Exe has autorun option checked.
    - Already tested on system drive, not working either.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2017
  9. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    I set simplewall on a Windows 7 machine, network shares worked. Now I set it on a Windows 8.1 machine, mine, and poof network share gone even network discovery :eek::mad:
     
  10. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    Maybe try it again with the newest version: :doubt:

    New Release:
    simplewall v1.6.3 (26 May 2017)
    http://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    md5, sha256 checksum
     
  11. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks mate. Did that yesterday and here am I today struggling with it...

    Guess the issue has something to do with simplewall not my machine cause as soon as I uninstall the filters and put WF back on, network sharing is fine again.
     
  12. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    Got it. Now it's working, I had to check all Windows processes too accomplish. I'll come back to tell which one/s need to be checked.
     
  13. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    I just marked svchost.exe case and network shares/discovery came back again under simplewall watch. Good.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2017
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    Maybe this issue is fixed with v1.6.4 :cautious: ("fixed run as admin does not work sometimes")

    New Release:
    simplewall v1.6.4 (31 May 2017)
    http://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    md5, sha256 checksum
     
  15. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
  16. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    Fixed, yes. :thumb: Now loading at startup on Windows 8.1 x64/x86.
     
  17. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
  18. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    729
    Hi Everyone

    Does Windows Firewall need to be switched on when using Simplewall?
    Thanks

    Terry
     
  19. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    On the contrary, simplewall asks you to allow WF to be switched off. However, I would not recommend to use it. It's development has been stopped for a month and a half: v1.6.5 (1 June 2017). A huge shame, it looked very promising...
     
  20. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    729
    Hi Mister X

    What a pity, I was getting along with it quite well. Any other suggestions for a simpleton like me?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  21. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    Looks quite simple, haven't tried though.

    http://www.sordum.org/8125/firewall-app-blocker-fab-v1-6/
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,373
    There is no new release, but each 1-2 week, some commits of blocklists, system rules or language files can be seen on Github.
     
  23. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    729
    Hi Everyone

    I quite like Simplewall but need a little advice because I am not strong on firewalls.

    I have implemented white list mode and put into the list all the applications that I want to have access to the internet. Now that is complete I find from time to time black messages popping out with some process name on it. The following are examples

    wermgr.exe
    dashost.exe
    erpsvc.exe
    compattelrunner.exe
    mbae-svc.exe
    soffice.bin
    svchost.exe
    system

    When these notifications appeared a tick box also appeared in the white list. My question is do these need to be ticked to ensure functionality? Or, importantly do I have to understand what these processes do to make a judgement. If so the program cannot be for me.

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  24. henrypp

    henrypp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Hi,

    > Does Windows Firewall need to be switched on when using Simplewall?
    No. Windows Firewall need to be switched OFF.

    >It's development has been stopped for a month and a half: v1.6.5 (1 June 2017). A huge shame, it looked very promising...
    No. Working under next major, and GitHub does not say anything for you. You're information from questionable source.

    > I have implemented white list mode and put into the list all the applications that I want to have access to the internet. Now that is complete I find from time to time black messages popping out with some process name on it. The following are examples.

    So what? White list mode means all applications who does not checked in main window list, will be blocked.

    If you use Chromium, Firefox or something like that (app who need internet access) it will be inserted into the main list automatically - simplewall logs all blocked packets and collect executable files (firefox.exe, chrome.exe etc.) into his own database (see main window) and if you need to allow this app - just check it in the main window.

    If you do not need "black messages", just disable it ("settings"->"dropped packets log"->"enable notifications").

    > When these notifications appeared a tick box also appeared in the white list. My question is do these need to be ticked to ensure functionality? Or, importantly do I have to understand what these processes do to make a judgement. If so the program cannot be for me.

    No. Honestly, most applications, who trying to access for internet, does not need it for real business.

    If you do not understand what address/port/process doing on your computer, just use Windows Firewall, because simplewall definitely for advanced users.
     
  25. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,009
    Location:
    Mexico
    @henrypp

    Good to have you here, welcome. I really wish your product become a great product. I like it.
    Yes. I am a questionable source of information. fortunately you signed up in here to provide us with reliable infos.
     
Loading...