Simplewall-Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by co22, Oct 25, 2016.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,144
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks for the feedback, not sure if I will try it.

    This sounds a bit weird, I think I had the same issue with Comodo, that was reason enough for me to dump it.
     
  2. Cantos

    Cantos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone else having trouble with this firewall and Microsoft Word? To be more specific, I get an error message loading Word when trying to open a document unless I toggle the firewall. After that, it's fine until I reboot. Word is not blocked in the firewall.
     
  3. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    This tool is awesome, and its open source, why is this not more popular?
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,442
    Location:
    Mexico
    So it won't go same fate as WFC. Acquired by a $$$ Huge Company $$$.
     
  5. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    Well its GPL code, acquiring it wont take it away from the public anyone will be able to continue the project
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,442
    Location:
    Mexico
    @henrypp What's going on with development? Have you stopped?
     
  7. henrypp

    henrypp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Nowhere
    No. I'm still shining, still climbing. I hope to have time on autumn/
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,316
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Sorry OT, but chrlauncher also please (not that there are problems) :thumb:
     
  9. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
    Installed simple wall and just notice that my windows defender security is missing in my system tray icon?! Is that fine?
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,144
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Any comments on this?

     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,442
    Location:
    Mexico
    Nope, just waiting for him to stop having fun /lol
     
  12. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Germany
    It doesn't necessarily have to do with his program. Why am I the only one who sees this? I'm not the only one looking, am I?
    When I block Simplewall in itself it stops spamming it's own log file. (And subsequently the connections.)

    Henry said it has to do with me using a VPN. I don't know why or what is even going on. (I'm not an expert or even good at this) But I doubt its malicious.
     
  13. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,773
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    @Duotone @Cantos
    Your apps are from MS (WD and Word) so maybe the reason of your issue is that not only specific processes should be allowed but services also. Did you allowed some of them (list from RBM) to call out?
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2018
  14. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Germany
    Why did you call me?
     
  15. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,773
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Sorry for mistake...it's already changed :)
     
  16. co22

    co22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    router
    i dont have word but some program(not remember what was but after allow its work) wont work if you dont allow access to 127.0.0.1
    so try it
     
  17. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Philippines
    @ichito I think I've allowed msmpeng.exe to call out... need to add it on blocked apps?!
     
  18. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,773
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I'm not using Windows Defender so I don't know what processes in fact there are in your system but
    - I think about such option (accesible from the list in SW window and from try menu)
    180824093115_1.jpg
    and services like this
    https://superuser.com/questions/494163/disabling-microsoft-antimalware-service
    - try to find such processes connected to WD...maybe they need to have internet access - point No 2 "Disable Real-Time Protection and reschedule your Windows Defender"
    https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledg...-exe-eating-up-too-much-cpu-in-windows-10/#F2
     
  19. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    668
    Location:
    Italy
    Maybe you can find this post of mine useful :)
     
  20. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    829
    Thanks guys for the input above.

    Now all I'm asking for is an update.
     
  21. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9,512
    simplewall v2.3.4 (21 September 2018)
    https://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    sha256 checksum
     
  22. lucidstorm

    lucidstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Poland
    hi, does it have some self protection mechanisms, it runs very well but sometimes high CPU load with some windows services (if I find out which one I'll post). I use it for old laptops where I have to be careful about ram. Its also much simpler to use than any other software (the easiest one to date). However, there should be an informative window pop for new users on how to block all by default, first time I've run it I allowed all traffic without me realising it
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9,512
  24. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Germany
    I can not update with the program or reach your website when I use a VPN server in Luxembourg. Do you block VPNs for some reason?

    Also, do you know what those entries in the "blocked package log" mean? It is literally full of them. Many times per second.
    14-‎Oct-‎18 ‏‎23:29:28,<empty>,<empty>,[SOME EXTERNAL IP] (Remote),192.168.178.20 (Local),<empty>,<empty>,#0,IN,BLOCK
    Why are the places for the program name and some others empty?
     
  25. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9,512
    simplewall v2.3.6 (16 October 2018)
    https://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    sha256 checksum
    v2.3.6 (16 October 2018)
    • added purgen submenu into tray menu
    • added more statusbar information
    • set extra large icons view by default
    • tray menu services counting bug
    • fixed app with overdue timer still enabled on profile load
    • fixed resetting some data on profile load
    • fixed timer resetting on profie load
    • fixed listview checkboxes
    • cosmetic fixes
    • fixed bugs
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.