Simplewall-Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by co22, Oct 25, 2016.

  1. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,626
    Location:
    Mexico
    There's already one. Just click "x" top right corner main interface or "_" (minimize).
     
  2. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    England
    That`s what I always forget and every time click the exit button - it seems I can`t remember to do it, even after such a long time ;)

    Applications often have the option to "Exit to tray" and so asked if it would be a possiblity.
     
  3. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    Is latest stable version 2.1.4 working well with Spring Creator's update?

    Personally I'd remove the Exit button from the main menu altogether and put it inside "File" option. But I'm fine with your idea too. Close instead of exit.
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,193
    simplewall v2.2.3 beta (16 April 2018)
    https://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    sha256 checksum
    • added drop settings to default feature
    • changed log format to csv (comma-separated values) table
    • changed install/uninstall filters button icon
    • notifications: instant timer applying in notification window
    • notifications: cosmetics ui (issue #150)
    • notifications: restored "disable notifications for this app" button
    • notifications: fixed notification buttons behavior
    • notifications: removed timeout threshold
    • changed current locale version calculation method (more precision)
    • removed special rules highlighting (they have own group for it)
    • updated to the latest pugixml 1.9
    • cosmetics update engine
    • fixed ui bugs
    • fixed bugs
     
  5. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    England
    Thanks @mood for the update info.

    Can anyone decipher this line ?

    "added drop settings to default feature"
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,193
    Perhaps this means that settings can be dropped reverted to default settings.
     
  7. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    England
    I think that`s most certainly it - I was having some kind of dyslexic moment before and couldn`t see beyond the words.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,626
    Location:
    Mexico
    You were not alone (chuckles).
     
  9. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
  10. henrypp

    henrypp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Nowhere
    lol
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,193
    simplewall v2.2.4 beta (3 May 2018)
    https://www.henrypp.org/product/simplewall
    Download
    Changelog
    sha256 checksum
     
  12. anonskii

    anonskii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    excellent alternative to windows firewall
     
  13. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    Thanks Henry for all your work on a great free program!
    One question, and it must be something dumb that I'm missing... but when I click to allow something, it remains unchecked on the list and I still have to check it after allowing it on the popup. Is that normal?
     
  14. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    That shouldn't happen. Looks like a bug. Are you using stable or beta version?
     
  15. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,193
  16. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    Thanks for replying Deletedmessiah... Ive been keeping up up to date with most new releases reported here stable and sometimes beta. It must be some tweak or other program that's interfering im guessing. OsArmor comes to mind, but that would have been mentioned here, hmmm..... maybe a clean reinstall is in order............................................................ nope that didnt do it.

    Could not disabling WF have anything to do with it? just guessing
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  17. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    I think its a bug. Its a GUI related issue and I don't think OSarmor or other security apps would conflict with GUI related issues. But don't take my word 100% on this. It maybe Osarmor. Try disabling Osarmor and see if it helps.
    I'm not sure on this since I still use Windows 8.1 but I think you can't disable Windows Firewall on newer Windows 10 builds. Correct me if I'm wrong here.
     
  18. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    I think its a bug. Its a GUI related issue and I don't think OSarmor or other security apps would conflict with GUI related issues. But don't take my word 100% on this. It maybe Osarmor. Try disabling Osarmor and see if it helps.
    I'm not sure on this since I still use Windows 8.1 but I think you can't disable Windows Firewall on newer Windows 10 builds. Correct me if I'm wrong here.[/QUOTE]

    Okay... I just realised I had turned OSA service off a while ago to install something (I forget what), so it's not that. Sandboxie wouldnt mess with non sandboxed apps would it? Im sure its not security apps as Ive tried different ones since using Simplewall.

    Anyways, I'm on W 8.1 64b, with Windows services, and network & system features pared down quite a bit. Also, there are no related windows application events that Ive seen. Any disabled services that might be suspect?
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  19. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes, I don't think Sandboxie messes with non sandbox apps. Probably its because of some service disabled like you mentioned.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2018
  20. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    Yes, I don't think Sandboxie messes with non sandbox apps. Probably its because of some service disabled like you mentioned.[/QUOTE]

    Any idea which of these might be the guilty party?
    https://s18.postimg.cc/68plnz0cp/services.png
    (I hope Im not crossing any lines but I would welcome opinions if any of these are ill advised for basic computer use)

    Here are blocked network services in Simplewall
    https://s18.postimg.cc/uevnlipfd/d_network.png

    Thanks for your replies Deletedmessiah... sorry I'm not directing all of this just at you.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2018
  21. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    Sorry, no idea which service might be conflicting.
     
  22. henrypp

    henrypp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Yes, partialy, win10 1709 and above restrict access to some services and protected by trusted installer, but WF profiles can be disabled through netsh command (simplewall used this feature).
     
  23. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    Im really not that knowlegable, but could my allowing access on the popup not registering be related to my allowing Windows Firewall... I know youve always recommended turning it off... Deletedmessiah thinks its a bug, so if you want more info ask... SW has nothing in its logs that i could see
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2018
  24. Deletedmessiah

    Deletedmessiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    88
    Location:
    Outer space
    I see. Thanks for the information!
     
  25. Gordon7

    Gordon7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Copenhagen DK
    @drhu22 Did you remember to install Simplewall by right-click "Run as Admin" to give it permissions?

    You can check in Task Manager - Service tap to see if Windows Firewall is running. It must not be!

    Gordon7
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.