similar to previous post--not same prob. Also long with weird probs.

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by taezo, Nov 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taezo

taezo Registered Member

These probs are similar to those of BairbreJ, whose tale can be seen at:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=104854

Main difference: I installed a new HD, so it's not likely a hardware problem.
    After rereading my post I wonder if it's not a mobo problem.

I'm a freelance editor and I had to download 300G of photos from the publisher's FTP site last wednesday. It took a few hours, and while I had MS Antispy, firewall, router firewall, and NAV 2006 running at the time, I think I picked up a rootkit worm (or trojan or whatever it is).

It's not possible I got it from a music CD I played, nor from a cheesy website. No one else uses my computer and I am very careful. I make my living using it.

Here's how my computer acted after the download:

First thing I did after getting the photos was to try to get Picasa to detect them. Though there were in my compuer I could view them through MyComputer, Picasa could not find the folder.

So I did some research and downloaded ACDsee (highly rated photo organizing software). It went fine and I started tagging and analyzing the photos.

After several hours, the system slowed WAY down, so I scanned with MSAntispy, NAV, spybot, MS Malicious software tool, TrendMicro. Nada.

I tried to run Registry First Aid, but it hung. I downloaded trial of Reg MEchanic. It fixed some common minor reg stuff.

Then I decided to remove both Picasa and AcDsee. When I went to add/remove programs, the list wouldn't populate.

So I went to search to see if I could find recently changed files. Search did not work.

Event Log showed lots of disk errors, odd since I'd run HDHealth, chdsk, and defragged eariler in the week.

Windows explorer kept shutting down.

Dr.Watson shut down a few times.