Showing Links

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by octogen, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    In some threads when one references another thread or website the whole link is shown and in others, just the word "here" is placed. How is this done? I know this was covered before , but I can't seem to locate it. :rolleyes: Thanks in advance.
     
  2. BeetleBoss

    BeetleBoss She who posts lots of <I>Smileys</I>

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    10,610
    Location:
    We're somewhere in Kansas, Toto!!!!
  3. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    A quick guide ;)

    To show a link as a word or phrase instead of itself, use the following example BBCode:

    [#url=http://www.yahoo.com]Click Here[/url]
    Remove the # in the above code

    It will look like:

    Click Here

    Hope this helped!
     
  4. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    It can also be helpful to just hit "quote" under a post where you want to know how the poster did something - the quote window that comes up will show just how they did it :cool:
     
  5. GUI_TEX

    GUI_TEX Guest

  6. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    Thanks, everyone!

    To get to wilders security home page go here

    Hey! Not bad, eh?!

    Thanks, Detox! Actually, that's how I found out how to do it at one point, but I think I was having a brain cramp when I posted to start this thread! :D Thanks again, to all who responded!
     
  7. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I don't like that and avoid clicking on anything other than a REAL link. I want to know where I am going before I go. I think that is prudent security precaution. I have never understood why a security site would allow this. Just put the url in the post instead of trying to be "cutesy" and obscure things. ( I realize I can look at the link's properties, but why should I have to go to the extra trouble)?
     
  8. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Mele,

    Just hover the link - that will reveal all ;)

    regards,

    paul
     
  9. Not_in

    Not_in Guest

  10. dog

    dog Guest

    Mousing over the link as Paul said will reveal you're linking to http://yahoo.com, which would be the best practice to always check. I haven't moderated you're link, as you're trying to prove a point, but under normal circumstances, we would moderate any attempt to deceive like that. So it isn't a big concern, as we do a fairly good job of throughly looking at things, and on the odd chance we miss something or haven't gotten to yet, members can use the "report bad post" function or PM a staff member and we'll look into it.

    Regards;

    Steve
     
  11. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Does this :cool: still work ?
    Or was that lost during board software updates?
     
  12. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Nice. This one can be fun too. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.