should NOD32 pick up trojans?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rumpleforskin, Apr 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rumpleforskin

    rumpleforskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I've just done an in depth scan and it found nothing. I then ran Trend Micro free online virus scan and it detected 2 viruses in two seperate rar archives (in the scan it said they were viruses anyway). NOD32 was setup to scan archives..both of the trojans were the same. See info below.

    TROJ_INSERVICE.K

    so why didn't NOD32 detect this when I did the scano_O Doesn't it detect trojans? If not, whats the best protection against them? Must be resource friendly! I did have Norton, but thats too bloated for me.

    thanks
     
  2. izi

    izi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    Slovenia
  3. claire

    claire Guest

    Hi Rumpelforskin,

    Welcome to Wilders.

    NOD32 picks up more and more trojans but if you want a specific protection
    you could try TrojanHunter

    http://www.misec.net/products/

    You have also other fine products like BOClean and TDS
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I would use a seperate program for trojan detection, with an AV. I find BoClean to be very resource friendly.
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    You should try the NOD32 2.5 beta - It detects more types of nasties than the current version 2.0 (Not saying that NOD 2.0 is bad - its GREAT, but 2.5 is even BETTER :))
     
  6. rumpleforskin

    rumpleforskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    alright thanks for the info :) Firecat, I am already using 2.5beta (and its great).

    One other thing, I am currently using sygate firewall pro along with Trojan Hunter (trial) and Nod32. Do I need the firewall if I have nod32? I know nod32 is just an antivirus protection thing, but I was just wondering as I'm new to this stuff...doesnt bother me either way really, as Sygate is the best firewall ever, but I don't wanna be wasting resources!

    thanks again

    p.s. I will try trojan hunter trial until it runs out, at which point I will give Boclean a spin.
     
  7. RayJay

    RayJay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Definitely run a firewall. NOD is an antivirus app. It can not stop someone from hacking into your system from the outside, that's a firewall's job.
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Rumpleforskin, welcome to Wilders.

    100% yes, you need a firewall and also that firewall ought to have Visual Outbound Alerts.

    If you are concerned with resources then I'd throw a little more RAM into your machine.

    In regards to security, you may want to take a look HERE. As well there are discussions HERE and even more HERE.

    Hope this helps...

    Let us know how you go.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.