should i allow the Spoolsv.exe to access the internet?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Tom772, Jun 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Hello,

    I have checked that this is not a virus, and i know it is part of windows, but i dont know whether i should let this have full access to the internet. I would
    really like some help - sorry if i have posted this in the wrong part of the forum.

    Once again thank you for any help,

    Keep up the good work guys & girls,

    T
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Spoolsv.exe is just for your printer and doesn`t need internet access.
     
  4. checkmate1

    checkmate1 Guest

    Not to scare you but spoolsv.exe is used by some malware to attempt to disguise itself. I would do some scans with you AV/AT/AS just to be safe.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It is my printer and I have it blocked as well.
     
  6. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    thanks for helpin me out was unsure where it needed internet access - excellent help - so much respect for this forum:)

    T
     
  7. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    hey again - just wondered what this process is COM Surrogate(C:\Windows\System32\dllhost.exe - file size 5kb) is - currently blocked from the internet - pls any ides. (Running XP Pro sp2)

    Thanks for help,

    T(cant keep the good guys down!)
     
  8. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  9. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

  10. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Your quite welcome. :)



    snowbound
     
  11. cityman

    cityman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    i found it in several places. the windows uninstall packs, system 32 service packs, system32- dllcache, software distribution and sp2qfe.

    i did a kaspersky av and ewido scan on all the files and it was clean. but i will not allow spoolsv.exe access to the internet.

    what i wonder is why would micosoft want it to have access to the internet in the first placeo_O

    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.