should i allow the Spoolsv.exe to access the internet?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Tom772, Jun 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Hello,

    I have checked that this is not a virus, and i know it is part of windows, but i dont know whether i should let this have full access to the internet. I would
    really like some help - sorry if i have posted this in the wrong part of the forum.

    Once again thank you for any help,

    Keep up the good work guys & girls,

    T
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Spoolsv.exe is just for your printer and doesn`t need internet access.
     
  4. checkmate1

    checkmate1 Guest

    Not to scare you but spoolsv.exe is used by some malware to attempt to disguise itself. I would do some scans with you AV/AT/AS just to be safe.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,894
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It is my printer and I have it blocked as well.
     
  6. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    thanks for helpin me out was unsure where it needed internet access - excellent help - so much respect for this forum:)

    T
     
  7. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    hey again - just wondered what this process is COM Surrogate(C:\Windows\System32\dllhost.exe - file size 5kb) is - currently blocked from the internet - pls any ides. (Running XP Pro sp2)

    Thanks for help,

    T(cant keep the good guys down!)
     
  8. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  9. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

  10. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Your quite welcome. :)



    snowbound
     
  11. cityman

    cityman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    i found it in several places. the windows uninstall packs, system 32 service packs, system32- dllcache, software distribution and sp2qfe.

    i did a kaspersky av and ewido scan on all the files and it was clean. but i will not allow spoolsv.exe access to the internet.

    what i wonder is why would micosoft want it to have access to the internet in the first placeo_O

    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.