Shortcut for full computer scan?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by TsunamiZ, May 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TsunamiZ

    TsunamiZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Is it possible to make a shortcut to do a full computer scan? So that when I click on the shortcut the full computer scan automatically starts running?
     
  2. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    you only have to right click the icon:)
     
  3. TsunamiZ

    TsunamiZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    But is it possible to make a shortcut to do a full computer scan?
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I don't think so.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Yes , more or less . What version do you use - v3 ?
    Is your NOD32 installed in C:\Program files\ ?
     
  6. TsunamiZ

    TsunamiZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    ya v3, default install location...
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Download this and place it whereever you want (e.g. on your Desktop , in your quicklaunch tray...) . Whenever you start it , a manual on-demand scan will be initialized and performed.
     
  8. TsunamiZ

    TsunamiZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    thanks hitech boy. but is it possible to do it without a bat file?

    with kaspersky anti-virus 6, i can modify the shortcut with this argument...

    /hidden start scan_my_computer /show

    so the shortcut ends up looking like this...

    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 6.0\avp.exe /hidden start scan_my_computer /show

    is a similar thing possible with nod32?
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    As noted in the Help section of version 3 under command line, a scan can be "launched via the command line – manually (with the “ecls” command) or with a batch (“bat”) file". If you take a look at that section you'll also note all the command line switches one could use as part of the Windows shortcut Target entry. With that info you could then create a shortcut on your desktop or place the shortcut where every you want to.

    from MS support---> How to Create a Shortcut on the Desktop

    EsetScan.jpg

    Bubba
     
  10. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Karen's Showstopper will also create a desktop shortcut and can also be set to shut the computer down after it. It's free.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.