Shopping with Dr. Web

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, Mar 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Have anyone else noticed the insanely high number of FPs that Dr. Web gives while on various shopping site; e.g. Ebay, Amazon, Directron, etc. On ebay, I'm alerted on every page. Why is that? I never got any of these alerts before Dr Web starting adding massive amount of signatures.
     
  2. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm browsing very often the sites of Amazon USA, Uk and Germany.

    No problems at all.
     
  3. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    What type of alerts do you see?
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Here is a screenshot of a an FP I got while at ebay. Obviously, I hade it bigger so you can see the description.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
  5. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Lots of websites seem to link to Amazon, EBay etc. I get prompts about scripts in Online Armor for these odd websites...:)
     
  6. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    No problems here at all, I tried ebay and amazon.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i use ebay all the time, no problems here.
     
  8. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    No problems here with any of those sites using DrWeb.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Just in case you can get these two files and send them to VirusTotal ?
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Well that it's it. Get ready to hate me if you want to (Chris) but I'm done. I'm ditching Dr Web. Why? Because for some reason it became acceptable to give way too many FPs. I understand that they have been adding a massive amount of signatures lately. And, yes, I know that they are understafferd. Believe me, I've been hearing that excuse for a long time now as justification for their very slow developement. I've literally had 104 FPs in the last two days. Every time I opened up ebay, amazon, a java window, HJT!, Yahoo sports, or Yahoo games I would be alerted of infection (similar to the shots I posted above).

    That stinks because I went out on a limb with my family and got them all switched over. But now that there are FPs, which they won't know how to deal with, I think I'll be switching over to NOD32 2.7.
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    doesn't bother me what you use n8, but doesn't it seem strange to get 104 alerts in the past 2 days on websites I use myself with zero alerts.
     
  12. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That's just it, not all the FPs are due to websites. I hot them on HJT! and MRU Blaster, Ability Office 5, and Miranda. I run Miranda and Opera in a sandbox, so that might account for the reason why I'm getting FPs on site that you're not. But none of the other programs I listed are run that way. Even if it is Sandboxie that is some how creatin these FPs, is still needs to be dealt with.
     
  13. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    How about submitting the FP's to the Dr.Web lab? Isn't their support now quicker than before?
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That would be rather hard to do because I have Opera sandboxed; everything is renamed and given a temp extesion. I am pretty sure all this is a result of incompatabilities with SandboxIE, so infection is not a concern for me, but these FPs still should not be happening.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. parham
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    787
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.