Shockwave Player 11 Problems

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Ocky, Apr 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Adobe's latest version is a mess here with both IE7 and Opera 9.27.
    When going to sites where the player is required to play games for example,
    installation of the player is not recognised and the updater gets busy
    installing plus throws up a 'run as other user' window. (No install takes place
    even when selecting to run as admin. which I was already).
    On Adobe's test site it shows the player is installed in both Opera and IE7.
    However in Opera the links in Create/See/About don't open at all.
    I have of course tried an uninstall of the latest Shockwave via Add/Remove
    but to no avail. I have also selected the option not to check for player
    updates (by r/clicking the Shockwave test window).
    Any other suggestions ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Download the uninstaller and download the full installer. Start in an admin account, run the uninstaller tool, reboot and then run the offline installer.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You must of gotten a corrupted install of shockwave. I have Opera 9.27 and shockwave works just fine. Following the uninstall and reinstall in the above post just might correct your problem.
     
  4. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I had already done what you suggest. The uninstaller reminded me of my
    Norton days - it even left the shockwave entry in Add/Remove.

    The only difference between Opera and IE, is that the links shown in my
    first post work in IE, but even so opening for instance this site:
    http://www.chemgapedia.de/vsengine/info/en/help/requirements/shockwave.html will produce the same old results with both browsers.

    I think I will throw in the towel on this one. ( Hardly ever need Shockwave
    Player - it's just that I like everything working as it should).

    Thanks lucas1985 and bigc73542 !
     
  5. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    @Ocky: Did you checked the "Activate Plug-in" function in Opera?

    /C.
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    :D It's always checked and all other plugins work fine incl.flash. Only
    Shockwave Player doesn't play ball. First time here.
     
  7. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    O.k, just checking, one never knows...:D

    /C.
     
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    @ Cerxes

    With the version 11 release, Opera 9.27 finds the plug -in in the
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Adobe\Director\np32dsw.dll directory.
    Previously one had to extract the np32dsw.dll from the executable
    and place it into the Opera plugins directory. This had always worked
    well for me. There is only one entry in opera:plugins referencing the
    above path -as it should be.

    Thanks
     
  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Conundrum ! - I can now play all Shockwave (dir) stuff :) but have
    the following anomalies:-
    1) On Adobe's test site, version in both Opera and IE is shown as
    latest 11 xxx. ( However the links, eg. when clicking 'About', only work
    in IE. Nevertheless all Shockwave content can be played by both browsers.

    2) On testing version at http://gamescene.com/versions.html the version
    is not shown as 11 xxx. but as 10 xxx. See image.

    3) Windows system 32 directory has two sub-directories - one for
    Macromedia (housing the 10 xxx. version), and one for Adobe (housing
    the 11 xxx. version)

    4) Opera 9.27 finds the plugin here - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Adobe\Director\np32dsw.dll
    (which houses the11 xxx. version), yet on testing version at gamescene I get 10 xxx. version ?


    Whilst I am pleased that both in Opera and IE I can play all Shockwave
    director stuff, I still have absolutely no idea what is going on, unless
    it has to do with backward compatibility .. ?
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.