ShLog.txt Huh

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by AAP, Jan 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hello,To all

    Well i happen to be doing some cleaning out
    the puter & this is when i seen this ShLog.txt
    now i have no idea what it is or where it came
    from but it keep a log of everything i do &

    it also logs all my security software that i run
    now i did a right click to check it's properties
    & there is no info to look so far i have scan for
    trojans virus spyware & so on but stell no good

    also did a check on google & again i find no info
    on this thing anyone have an idea what i can try
    next well i will check back to see if someone has
    any info on this file

    Thank you :'(

    Hi,Paul

    Hope all is good
    if this is in the wrong place please move it
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Rojas, :)

    Did you have a look at the content of the file?
    Anything in there that might be helpfull, as to it's origin?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hey.Pieter

    Oh yes but like i said no info at all i also have
    deleted this thing in Windows & safe mode & it
    just keeps coming back what i don't like about
    it is that it logs all my Security software & Mozilla

    what i look at & what i download not good
    when you don't know where it came from
    i just hope it's not somthing new my Boy's
    added to my puter i hate that well back to
    looking for more info lit me know if you have
    an idea of what it may be :eek:

    Thank you
     
  4. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hi,Pieter

    Oh not sure this is any help at all but
    the only thing i installed new was my
    copy of PG but i don't think PG would
    not name there logfile

    Thanks :rolleyes:
     
  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ola, AAP ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Rojas,

    I asked one of the DCS moderators if it could be related to PG, because I don't use that myself.
    We'll keep you posted.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    The only log that Process Guard makes under V1.150 is procguard.log in the main process guard folder.

     
  8. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hey,Paul Ola

    @ Pieter

    Thank you will check back

    @ Pilli

    What i was thinking is that PG added
    procguard.log but i was also hoping
    they added that ShLog.txt so i was asking

    this thing is making me nut's have no idea
    where it came from or how to kill it

    Good luck :D
     
  9. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Rojas,

    You wouldn't happen to use a Cisco router, would you?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  10. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hi,Pieter

    No sorry to say i'm not using that but
    this is making me go mad i can't seem
    to find where it came from so it looks

    like i will be doing a Reformat i hate
    the idea but i see no way out well
    i will be looking to see if i can find
    anyone with info on this thing

    you have a great one

    Hey,Paul :D
     
  11. Vorpal

    Vorpal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Hope I am not too late with a clue - did you install a version of RegRun3 recently? I found the SHLOG file in Windows\AppData a few weeks ago on my Win98 system, and was concerned about it for the same reasons as Rojas - logging of program launches.

    I don't have conclusive proof, but my SHLOG file has a creation date the same as that of the folders for RegRun3, and I believe it could be related to one of RR3's restore/protection programs. Haven't had time to learn all of it, either! lol

    Hope this helps, and I will see if I can unearth further info!
    Richard
     
  12. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I also have shlog.txt and run RegRun3....

    I am posting now at the official Reg Run Suite forum and referring Dmitry to this board....

    Hopefully he will be along shortly to let us know if this is created by RegRun ;) ....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  13. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  14. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hello,To all

    Hey,Vorpal

    Hmmm yes i just installed the RRG update
    at this point i pray it is RRG i was about to
    do a reformat i just hate the idea of this on
    my puter without any info on what it is

    Thanks

    @ puff-m-d

    Hi if you find any info please lit me know
    what this is i'm going nut's over this

    Thanks :D

    Hi,Paul
     
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Rojas,

    Still awaiting from a reply from Dmitry.......

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  16. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hi,Bud

    Thanks for the help i will check back again
    you have a good one talk to you soon :D

    Good luck
     
  17. Vorpal

    Vorpal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Well, I think I have solved the mystery - sorry didn't get back to you all sooner..

    The Gold edition of RRG (I had the trial vers installed) has the Watch Dog / RunGuard (might be off on the second name, forgot to write it down) As part of its features it maintains a history of the programs that have opened and it has checked. The user can review the programs via the Show History log.

    Couldn't find a reference that specifically states Show History log = shlog.txt but it seems reasonable.
    But to test the theory, I uninstalled RRG and the shlog.txt file no longer accumulated information!

    So pending confirmation from RRG, shlog.txt does not seem to come from a malware source, etc. :D
     
  18. AAP

    AAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Posts:
    117
    Hey,Vorpal

    Wow you are the Man big time i just had
    a look at that ShLog.txt then had a look at
    Run Guard & as far as i can see you are 100%
    on the money on this one :D i thank you

    this was making me go mad not good
    that job gos to the wife kid's & dog hehe
    once again you the Man

    Thank you :D
     
  19. Vorpal

    Vorpal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Rojas,

    Glad I could help !

    (and free you for the wife/kids/dog !) :D

    Vorpal
     
  20. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    This file is created by RunGuard as confirmed to me by Dmitry.
    The location is:
    "C:\Documents and Settings\ds\Local Settings\Application
    Data\shlog.txt"
     
  21. lac fox

    lac fox Guest

    "...it logs ...Mozilla what i look at & what i download not good.."

    not good at all. Does rungard require internet access? If there is no program option to turn off logging or set filesize zero I would shut down runguard module and delete ShLog.txt then dont surf anywhere before performing any update. Of course, I'd also have rules in place for the update IP's
     
  22. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    You can disable Runguard. Go to global configuration and uncheck box, or even stop logging through Runguard settings
    HTH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.