ShadowProtect Desktop continuous incremental file size way too big

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by cthorpe, Aug 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    I am having some trouble with ShadowProtect's continuous incremental. I set it up following these directions: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1203715&postcount=2 with 60 minutes between incrementals.

    The problem I am having is that the size of the incremental backups jumps all over the place, even when my computer is idle. Some of the backups will be less than 10mb. Some will be 70-100mb, and occasionally one will be 1GB or more. My last incremental was 2.35GB and the computer had been idle the whole time.

    I have already disabled Windows Vista's defrag task, and do not have any other defragger installed. The only programs running in the background are:

    NOD32 4.0.437
    Look n Stop 2.06p4
    Clipmate
    Vmware Workstation (with no vms running)


    lsass.exe is constanly writing to the disk according to Process Explorer, but it's only in bursts of 500-800 bytes, so it shouldn't be building up to gigs of writes.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Could something be auto updating? You might find a file comparsion program and then mount two of the images at different points and see what is changing.

    Pete
     
  3. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    My thought as well,,,,something auto-updating,,,,like security software or even Windows itself.
     
  4. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas

    I should have thought of that. I have a license for Beyond Compare 3. Let me install that and see what I get.

    Thanks for the idea!

    EDIT -
    Mounted the 2.35GB incremental and the one just before it in read only mode and had BC3 do a comparison. I got a lot of access denied errors while it was trying to do the compare. Now I'm going to copy all the incrementals, mount the copies as writable and modify permissions so BC can get into the folders. Will report back with what I find.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.