ShadowProtect and e-sata drives

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by axial, Jul 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    ShadowProtect Desktop 3.2 backed up to an external Seagate e-sata drive perfectly; the backups can be mounted and verified, viewed, etc.

    However, in the Recovery Environment the e-sata drive isn't visible in either the Recommended or Legacy boots. Is this just a matter of loading the correct driver, or is there some other restriction on recovering from e-sata? The manual doesn't mention e-sata at all.
     
  2. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Hopefully, someone more knowledgeable will provide a comprehensive and definitive response but I believe it's a driver issue which can be resolved by using the "Load Drivers" option in the Recovery Environment.
     
  3. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    If you are in IDE mode,the eSATA drive MUST be turned on BEFORE booting up,to be visible.
    Can be turned off anytime

    Only if in AHCI or RAID mode,can the eSATA drive be turned ON anytime.

    Its called Hot swapping and hot plugging.

    The AHCI driver does have to be installed to take advantage of it and this isnt easy to do after installation of the OS.

    The F6 Load Drivers function will load the driver but it probably isnt worthwhile,
     
  4. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    Thank you both for your reply. I cold-booted into the R.E. with the Seagate external already on and it did appear in the list of drives this time.
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    With SPv2, I have to turn on my Seagate External HDD first, before I boot in the recovery environment, otherwise I won't see my HDD to do a backup or restore.
    I also have to choose the first option, because the second option doesn't work for me, but they have other names than in SPv3.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.