ShadowProtect 6 is now called ... ShadowProtect SPX

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by savalnc, Jul 25, 2015.

  1. savalnc

    savalnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    52
    "ShadowProtect SPX is the official name for ShadowProtect 6. ShadowProtect 5, will be continue being supported and there will even be a maintenance release, however no new features will be introduced for the older version of the product." - StorageCraft Support Forum (http://www.storagecraft.com/support/forum/shadowprotect-spx-vs-storagecraft-shadowprotect-desktop-5)

    If you are on version 5 with maintenance, you can upgrade for free. If you are not on maintenance, the upgrade price from version 5 is $49.98. Otherwise, it's $100 to buy the new SPX.
     
  2. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    $100? What a treasure.
     
  3. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Its target is not home users:D

    In my memory, ShadowProtect Desktop must be installed in OS. When doing restoration, it will check the image whether it has installed or not. Therefore, you could not do cold imaging only.(I hope my memory is correct:p)
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2015
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I remember getting a free license on Facebook back in 2013... Guess that doesn't count.
     
  5. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    :thumb:
    Yes its main market is corporate customers. The requirement of having an activated copy installed on the OS is for the HIR function (hardware independent restore, i.e., Universal restore). If you don't want to restore the image to a system with dissimilar hardware systems, then you can still restore to the same computer using the boot media. So cold restore is still working with SP boot media even if there is no SP installed in the OS. :)
     
  6. savalnc

    savalnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    52
    Yes, I got a free version 5 license in 2013 too, but it only qualifies for a $50 upgrade price, no free upgrade. I think the difference for now between the SPX and the regular version is only in the installed app. The Boot media (WinPE and CrossPlatform) should be the same.
     
  7. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  8. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Thanks for your clarification. It still very strange:D
     
  9. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    I just posted on another thread how much I miss ShadowUser - the original "ShadowMode" IR program. I still don't understand their retirement of that product. Next to Deep Freeze, it was the best.
     
  10. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Ahh. Still remember Deep Freeze and how I viciously assaulted that app with about every single piece of disrupt/destroyware that I could throw at it and after a reboot it was like nothing ever happened. Solid!
     
  11. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lo,

    Just a little lazarus action with this thread.. reaching out for comments..

    RE Storage Craft Shadow Protect: I've been happy with V5 for a while, 'spose I sort of have to move along.

    Have many users of SP V5 moved over to SPX ??

    AFAICS thre has been a dumbing down somewhat and loss of granular control for desktop users ?
    The log file is , I think, a silly implementation of what was quite useful.

    I am assuming these changes benefit the corporate environment.

    Any issues ??
    Regrets. ?
    Anyone "left the fold" ?

    I havbe read all the threads on the Storage Craft SPX Windows Forum, and, considering, seems not have generated too much flak

    Regards.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    I've talked to them about SPX, and was told unless I was running any linux systems there was no point to switching. I've trialed it and it was fine, but nothing new that much. Real change is supporting both windows and linux
     
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ya
    No specific reason to change version yet that I can see.

    Thx
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Is anyone running shadow protect on windows 10? i am running shadow protect spx on windows 10 and ever since i installed the fall update the product has become unlicensed and the backups have not run. i have asked for a license reset and awaiting response. i guess they will need to redo their activations due to the way the windows 10 builds work.
    the only reason i found it out is because i opened the interface and it told me it had no license key. the program never notified me of failed backs and i cannot find anyway for the program to notify me of issues other than setting up email notifications.
     
  15. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,984
    Location:
    Canada
    SP requires deactivation on current system before allowing reactivation on a new installation. Not sure if this is what happened to you but it happened to me years ago after I first purchased it. I had actually restored to a previous snapshot of my O/S before first deactivating SP, so the new reinstall would not reactivate. Support did help me, however, by providing me with a new activation.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the thing is it wasn't a new installation. all I did was install an update for windows 10 but the way the newer build was installed must of trigged the reactivation.
     
  17. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Strange - I installed the new W10 build on a couple of machines with SPX and activation was retained on both of them. BTW, in the event you are not aware, there is a new build of SPX (6.0.16).

    https://www.storagecraft.com/downloads/software-updates
     
  18. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The " read me " for 6.0.16 seems to have adressed some issues raised in the SPX Forum by users: Cool.
    Has added some support options.

    Quick update path.

    For noting:
    I'll just keep watching for a while...

    regards
     
  19. pwr

    pwr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    70
    Tried the trial version of ShadowProtect SPX. Seems to be less features. Where is the diskmanager? I literally had to guess which volumes were on which disks (This was so much clearer in ShadowProtect 5). Of course you can just run disk management in windows or gparted in linux, but why cut that useful feature out?
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Simple solution is just use Shadowprotect 5. It is still supported
     
  21. pwr

    pwr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    70
    I guess you're right :)
     
  22. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Never got into shadowprotect. I have a current copy but as legendary as it seems to be online it never spoke to me enough to use it. The Terabyte products appealed to me as an engineer. I occasionally give SP a shot but it never amounts to anything.
     
Loading...