ShadowDefender Saga

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by trjam, Oct 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Same here.
     
  2. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello Tony and for those who are interested,

    For the past couple of days, I have been testing 100+ malware samples against the latest DefenseWall v2.45 build and Primary Response SafeConnect 3.5 beta under the protection of Shadow Defender(SD) v1.1.0.275 in lieu of a VM. Contrary to what I have originally said in post's #40 and #42 below regarding previous versions of SD, I can happily report that I have yet to experience any conflicts with the above combination. Until proven otherwise, I will continue to use SD in the forseeable furture for malware testing purposes only.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1328222&postcount=40
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1328254&postcount=42


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  3. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Thanks Cogito. :thumb:

    Don't stop at malware testing only, ;) you can leave it running for a couple of days at a time before switching it off briefly to update windows, and your AV program. The thing runs so damn smooth! :p
     
  4. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    I've never been able to make SD run properly on my machine. Probably because of my raid0 setup! Once installed, XP can't boot anymore. Maybe someone have the solution?
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    725
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks for the update CogitoErgoSum:thumb:

    It is greatly appreciated :)
     
  6. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello Tony,

    You are very welcome.


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  7. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Alcyon, might be stupid question, which version did you try, latest?

    I know compatibilities with DefenseWall and other programs have been fixed more recently.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,560
    I've got it running on 3 raid 0 machines with no issues at all.

    Pete
     
  9. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    I tested SD v1.1.0.275 on a fresh xp backup with no luck! If it's not the raid, I don't know what it is.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.