Shadow Protect - Restore Procedures

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by LenC, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I am a new user.

    I have created an image of my c partition and am now looking at the restore wizard. If I indicate that I want to restore the image back to drive c, the next screen has a check box asking if I want to set the partition to active. But the check box is greyed out - so I can't check it.

    Clearly, I want the c partition to remain active. Is the box greyed out because the partition is already active?

    Thank you,
    Len
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    Yes. How many partitions do you have on your drive?

    Pete
     
  3. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Hi Pete -

    Thanks. I have two - main partition (c) and an HP recovery partition (e).

    Len
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    Okay. I think if when you select the partition to restore if you right clicked on the partition and selected the option delete partition, which will leave that space unallocated, you then right click on the unallocated space, and select create same size partition from image, that the active option would be working.


    But in your case it's greyed out because the partition is already active. If you can wait, I will test this later and confirm.

    Pete
     
  5. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Thanks, no rush. I don't have the courage to try what you described:D
     
  6. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    In doing what you just describe what actually happens to the master boot record?
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    You can either restore it from the image or not. I would probably not bother in your case.
     
  8. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Peter, I has try doing that exactly. It gives me error regarding the master boot record. However my system still functions and is able to boot up properly. I don't understand why this is so.

    So when I backup a drive is the master boot record also backed up or not?
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    If you are backing up the whole drive, or primary active partition, yes the mbr and track 0 are backed up.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.