Shadow Protect and Win 7

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by LenC, Jun 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have a new WIN 7 computer. The first thing I've done is to create a baseline image using SP recovery disk - I haven't yet installed SP software.

    The new computer shows 2 partitions in "My Computer" - windows and recovery; this is what I expected.

    SP shows 3 partitions - system, windows and recovery.

    What is that third partition that is appearing in SP? Forgive me if this is a dumb or obvious question relating to WIN 7. This is my first experience (day 1) with WIN 7, so I have a lot to learn.

    I just want to be sure I have my SP images before I do anything else.

    Thanks,
    Len
     
  2. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Len,

    Have a look in Windows Disk Management. You will see the third partition.
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,282
    The "System" partition is hidden, so it does not appear in Windows Explorer. Check if it is the active partition. If it is, you should back up it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
  5. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Great information - thanks everyone!
     
  6. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Great information.

    But how to perform a Restore process.

    1. When restoring the active partition (i.e. C drive) on the same hard drive.


    2. When restoring all the partitions to a new installed hard drive (after a disk failure).
    Can you elaborate how to restore each partition including the System partition.

    Thanks
     
  7. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    On my 6-64 home premium there is a 100 mb partition c an operateing system partition and a recovery partition. I never back up the recovery partition. I back the other 2 up. I believe that shadow protect will always back up the mbr anyway. T he mbr is on the 100 mb partition.. I would back up the 100 mb part & the operating system partition.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Woody777,

    You are backing up the correct partitions. One correction however, the MBR is not in the 100 MB partition. The MBR is not inside any partition. Depending on your definition of the MBR it is either the first or the first 63 sectors of the HD. Typically the 100 MB partition starts at the 2049 sector, well after the MBR.
     
  9. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    Thanks for pointing that out, I was apparently a little confused but it was working so I was backing up correctly.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Whenever you create a partition image with SP the MBR gets backed up as well. So the 100 MB partition image and the Win7 partition image will both contain a backup of the MBR.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.