Shadow Protect and Acer Laptop

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Long View, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    A friend has just bought an Acer Laptop and I was thinking of recommending
    Shadow Protect. As I don't like laptops I have no experience of how likely SP is to work. Many laptops have hidden partitions and unusual MBR etc ? I keep reading about imaging and problems with Dell.

    so anyone ever used SP with an Acer lap top ? My guess is that there should be no problem but as it is not my machine I just want to be careful.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    I don't know about Acer, but I've used SP on my THinkpad laptop which does have that hidden partition. I've not installed SP, but just run it from the CD.

    Pete
     
  4. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Thansk for the replies. The acer does have a hidden partition and C: is NTFS but listed as FAT 16. PTEDit32 wouldn't run - some problem with Vista ?

    anyway - Acer has it's own backup of C: it took 59 minutes and I have no idea where the image is stored. will take another look in the morning.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    As mentioned in that other thread, this is an unstable situation. You could fix it with PTEDIT.exe from DOS or with Acronis Disk Director.
     
  6. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Thanks Brian - I would like to fix this BUT I have to wonder why Acer have done this. Is there any chance that this is done to allow the Acer image program to work ? Before I fix I think I will want to find out where they store their image and probably to make an imge to an external USB or CD/DVD
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I understand your caution. My reading is that Acer have messed up.
     
  8. BJStone

    BJStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Be careful Long View... I have an acer notebook, a Travelmate using XP.

    Those acers tend to come with three partitions: a C and a D partition of equal size. Before the C partition probably is another partition of somewhere between 4 and 10 gigs, depending on the model and the loaded OS. This partition is hidden. There's a special key combination (for me it was F12 IIRC) which invokes the restore procedure.
    With this you can restore the laptop to its initial state, if you followed the advise at first start up of the laptop to make (=create) an image. That image is probably stored on the D drive in compressed form.

    The above was how it once was with my acer. With those newer models it is possible they changed a couple of things, like making the image directly after the first start up.
    I would study the laptops manual carefully and see what it mentions. It probably is in there like it was in the manual of my laptop.

    What was the model/type of that acer?
     
  9. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    It is an Aspire 5720.

    and yes there are 3 partitions C: for OS and programs D: for data and a hidden partition. when I used the acer program to make an image I could not find where it was located. D: does have some hidden data which based upon the saize looks like it could be the image.

    so 3 questions

    1) where is the image ? so I can copy
    2) Is there any way to make a CD/DVD to be able to restore if C: gets damaged 3) Is it a good idea to fix the FAT 16 issue/instability ? or is this needed by Acer to allow their restore system to work ?

    Now I know why I hate laptops ?

    About 5 Years ago I bought an Acer for my wife. The first thing I did was to remove everything and re-install. 2 years ago I bought here a Samsung. This came with an XP CD and allowed me to reinstall without all the junk programs

    will have to read the manual in more detail.- Thanks
     
  10. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    I have an Acer (10 months old) and I just deleted (I may have even formatted, can't remember) their backup on the D and now I just store Paragon Express images there.
     
  11. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    bad news. Just to be safe I used the Acer backup program to make an image of C: direct to 2 DVD's. This took about 50 mins.

    Then used Sahadow Protect to make an image. Then restored. all seemed to go well. checked with Acronis Disk Director and C: which had been NTFS (Fat16b) was now simply NTFS.

    Rebooted and could not log on. Admin plus 2 user accounts all refused to load as activation was now required because of drive inconsistencies.

    Put the Acer DVD in the drive and eventually restored the factory settings.

    Have no idea what Acer are doing. In the past I would have deleted everything, including hidden partitions and done a simple clean install and then used Acronis or SP. Now Acer seem to have done a dell and messed things up. Avoid Acer now seems to be best.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.