shadow defender reboot question

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by mantra, Dec 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    Hi
    i used many times returnil and i liked , what i dislike is it doesn't support reboot

    well i 'm using shadow defender 1.1.0.275 , i guess the last version

    i read that it suppors the reboot


    i like to use such programs to test a software and if i like , i install it

    well i installed shadow defender -> enable shodow mode
    my intent is to give a try to the last version of true image (i'm still using ti9)

    well i installed true image home last version , after ti to work ask a reboot
    well i did reboot my pc
    but after i did not find true image!

    i mean i used shadow defender with the purpose to test programs that need the reboot to work

    what's wrong?
    shadow defender should support the reboot , it's not the good choice to test programs that need reboot?

    what can i use to test programs that need reboot to work?

    thanks
     
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Mantra, I think Peter2150 answers your question in post #2 of this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=217935&highlight=shadow defender install reboot
    Peter2150 has used SD for awhile so he should know what he's talking about.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
  4. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Mmm, I think I read about both Windows Steady State and AYRecovery but there are other people here who know MUCH about this and hopefully they come and inform you better here. I have to run errands so I will check later if you've gotten useful info.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    I believe if you can figure it out Windows Steady State will do what you want as will any of the Rollback RX family. Also a vm machine is a good alternative.

    With SD, you can't install something that requires a reboot to install, period.

    Pete
     
  6. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Pls see my signature for alternatives
     
  7. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Yes, ShadowUser Pro. The gripe is that SU has not been updated for a l-o-n-g time.:p
     
  8. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    And remember, many times when a program says you must reboot, you really don't. Some programs do require a reboot, but more than half (just a guess) don't. I'm not a programmer, so I don't know, but I understand that a reboot sets something in the registry that would not allow you to use trial-version a second time, for example. But the program will still work fine without the reboot. You just have to try and see.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,218
    I would normally recommend ShadowUser as it is still doing a wonderful job on my XP machine. Unfortunately not only it hasn't been updated to work with Vista, but somebody in the Storagecraft forum complained about not working properly with very recent computer hardware (e.g. Core duos etc.). I can't confirm as my XP machine is from 2005, but I'd believe the poster.

    Storagecraft's attitude about SU is irritating to say the least, they don't seem to care anymore, but they are still selling it.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,218
    You can try FirstDefense PC Rescue, it is absolutely perfect to test applications that need a reboot. It involves a little bit more than a reboot (if you don't want to keep the application), but it is still faster than an imaging program, but not as fast as ShadowUser (Although FD PC Rescue allows you to do a lot more than SU).

    Windows SteadyState is free and does allow reboots like SU, but when I tried it (May this year, so may be it is different now) reboots from protected mode to normal mode were taking up to 6 minutes. I like to reboot from shadow sessions frequently, and 6 minutes is too long for me, it might be okay for people who like to remain in shadow mode the whole day.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2008
  11. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Shadow User , is a old piece of software , but even now it leads the lite virt. apps.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    thanks
    windows steady state is easy to remove or can mess up my windows xp
    i don't trust so much about microsoft
    windows steady state so let me test a program that need rebbot like true image (last version)?

    thanks to all
     
  13. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I realize you can't get FDISR anymore, but a similar app that uses snapshots would do the job for you. When I want to try an app, I boot to one of my snapshots and install it. After a reasonable amount of time using the app, I can copy the snapshot to my primary if I like it, or I can copy my primary to the test snapshot to get rid of it if I don't like it.
     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    but can FDISR restore everything ? like returnil ?
     
  15. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Yes, everything, unless you have specified folders to be anchored, i.e., excluded from snapshots. It's basically like having a whole other machine or OS. For test purposes or other purposes you can create an emtpy snapshot and do a fresh install of your OS and just keep that "clean" OS snapshot handy or as an archive to copy in and test whatever you want in it, then blow it away and recopy the clean OS snapshot again and try again.
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    but it's pretty old, which is the last version ?
    i guess i can't find it or?

    i know it change the mbr

    thanks
     
  17. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I am one of the original registered users of the full FD-ISR Raxco version and have the good fortune of limited support and updates from Leapfrog Software whose rep Todd has a forum here on Wilders, I am running version 3.31.233, but my understanding is you can NO LONGER purchase the original "full" FD-ISR. There are more limited versions of this software still available, I THINK, from Horizon Data Systems (I think that's right) and I think that may be the "FirstDefense PC Rescue" that Osaban referred to above. I'm not sure of the quality of HDS' support of this product and it may only permit one backup snapshot - but don't take my word for it, as I am a spoiled charter member of the full blown FD-ISR.;) Other members may be able to fill you in.
     
  18. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I believe the new copy allows 2 snapshots.
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Unless it's changed it's two snapshots. The original and one copy.

    Pete
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,131
    thanks to all
    which is a wm easy to install and to use?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.