Shadow Defender Issue with Kingston HyperX Cloud II (USB) headset. SLOW boot

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by bthology, Nov 26, 2019.

  1. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Hi,
    I have an issue with Shadow defender causing extremely slow boot times (3-5m) when C drive is frozen and the Kingston Hyper X Cloud II is plugged in.
    I'm 100% certain it is the headset and shadow defender.
    When the headset is unplugged from the USB, the computer boots normally.
    When the headset is plugged in with shadow mode off, its also fine.
    The slowdown happens when C: is in shadow mode.
    My sample size is about 60 computers and it happens pretty much to nearly all of them.

    I've tried everything from disabling/ delaying the audio device,
    Changing USB port settings,
    Disabling other audio devices (m/b)

    If anyone has any ideas, please throw me some suggestions as this problem has been driving me nuts for most of the day.
    Thanks.
     
  2. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    981
    If it is Shadow Defender that has a conflict with Kingston Hyper X Cloud II it might be the Kingston Hyper X Cloud II software. Some of these softwares want to own the pc at kernel level. I'm not sure if that is the case here but just a thought. I guess that Shadow Defender would not allow anything to completely take over the shadow session.
    I have read that there have been compatibility problems with most pc (PCs that are not using Shadow Defender) and that Kingston Hyper X Cloud II and firmware etc updates have been released. I don't know much about these headphones but I might look at updating the firmware and exploring that as a way forward. Any conflict with Shadow Defender would be an extremely rare event. There are mixed reviews on these headphones.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2019
  3. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks for the reply. I've excluded the entire windows folder and still the same problem.
    I have tried updating firmware with no success. Any ideas what I can exclude?
    It slows to a crawl after the first stage of the spinning circles (with the windows blue logo). The spinning circles without the logo and the screen with the username and blureed background take extremely long.
     
  4. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    981
    If you are happy with your headphone software. You could try uninstalling Shadow Defender and then rebooting a few times and testing the headphones to your satisfaction.
    Close down your system
    Boot
    Re-install Shadow Defender and see if you get anything different.


     
  5. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Hi,
    I have tried that. The thing is the Kingston HyperX doesn't install any of its own software, theres no drivers/software which you can download online. I'm pretty sure it uses some windows audio drivers.
    Under the device manager under audio/kingston hyperx surroun sound, it seems to use all windows drivers and none of its own. I may try individually excluding each of those driver files for now.
     
  6. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    981
    There is a firmware upgrade mentioned here
    I don't know if it would apply to you. Also a faq
     
  7. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    981
    @bthology

    I've had another thought on this.
    Do you have Fast startup (aka: fast boot, hiberboot, hybrid boot, or hybrid shutdown) enabled in Windows 8/ 10? Tony recommends that it be disabled when using Shadow Defender. Just a thought.


     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2019
  8. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Hi.
    Fast boot isn't enabled, some of the machines are AMDs which don't even have the fast boot option.
    I have managed to get time freeze to work on c drive by unticking the "start time freeze with Windows". And putting a batch in the startup folder to freeze after its all booted.

    Shadow defender has the option to edit shadow mode on shutdown in the Gui and i cannot find any command parameters to add that command to a batch. If I go into shadow mode with the command prompt, i seem to have no option but to enter shadow mode on during boot. Is there a secret command code im missing here?
     
  9. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    981
    You mention Time Freeze. Are you running Time Freeze on the same machines as Shadow Defender?

     
  10. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,202
    to start shadow mode:
    Code:
    CmdTool.exe /enter:C /now
    CmdTool.exe  /exit:C
    
    CmdTool.exe /? for help
     
  11. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks for the help
    So the /now will exit shadow mode after reset? Will try this tomorrow morning
    Thanks!
     
  12. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I use shadow defender on my second hard drive since time freeze only works on the os drive. But with the knowledge of the /now switch. I can probably remove time freeze

    Edit : I only put on time freeze as a bandaid fix. But it still exhibits the slow boot problems. So i guess it works almost the same as SD
     
  13. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,202
    /now enters shadow mode immediately and the the /exit will exit shadow mode on reboot and put you in normal mode. Read the help. :D
     
  14. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    981
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2019
  15. bthology

    bthology Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks everyone for the help. Unfortunately, the problem still persists randomly with the unfreezing on next reboot.
    I'll have to look for another solution through Windows or with the Kingston headset itself
     
  16. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,870
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Did you try connect such headset via MiniJack?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.