Shadow Defender and DefenseWall

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Dregg Heda, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    I am thinking of running these two apps together, but my question is are there any conflicts involved? Anyone have any experiences running these apps together? Are there any weaknesses in this commbo that I will need to complement with other security apps/policies? Thanks.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think just with DefenseWall Hips and a good solid firewall is all you ever need,one more thing back up your registry just in case any accident or disaster,also always have your system restore ready:thumb:
     
  3. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Hi jmonge,

    the reason Im thinking about using SD, is that Id like to remove whatever crap might enter my browser. I know DW will paralyse it, but I would like to get rid of the malfunctioning malware.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    very simple just learn how to use the beatifull feature " rollback feature" very easy and secure delete:thumb: you could clean all traces(debris):)
     
  5. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Hehe - I reformat too much to even care about imaging. :D
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    some thing for sure it is that when formatt is done it is like a new pc;) cero viruses:D
     
  7. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    You might have a point jmonge. I was just looking at the help file and I must say DW comes with lots of options. I really like the go banking/shopping mode. Although rollback at this stage seems a little too complicated for me.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah i see:D did you consider also using Ccleaner to clean left overs;) ?anyway the important thing to criple/disable/delete the actual executable file from malware and when this happen malware traces are dead/useless and can not harm your system;)
     
  9. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    There should be no conflicts, but I suggest you to disable logging.
     
  10. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    I can confirm that, no problems here on Windows 7 32-bit, DW and SD works well together.
     
  11. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Why? Is it because the logs will be messed up? What with some info not being saved on reboot.
     
  12. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    So how about a combo of DW + SD +sbie? Would that work? Is it overkill? Are there any known conflicts in such a combo?
     
  13. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Im currently online sandboxed (Drop My rights enabled with run/internet access limited to iron, FF, sandboxiecrypto.exe and sandbo~4.exe) and the DW tray icon is red. I have one window running with two tabs open but DW shows this as 3 separate processes. I know the red icon means DW is blocking some sort of dangerous action, but what could it be blocking?
     
  14. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Because they are too big.
     
  15. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Hi Ilya,

    1) Does this mean I should disable it even if Im using DW standalone? A little explanation would be nice.

    2) Can you please take a look at my post above yours, post 13? Why is the tray icon red? Should I be worried?
     
  16. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    The problem is about snapshot space. If it is limited, a big file, constantly updated, can just fill it up very soon.

    Because you switched icon notifications on. Usually, nothing serious is meant with it- it just notifies you that DW did block some actions.
     
  17. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    1) I dont use system restore, but if I use an ISR like rollback rx I should have it turned off?

    2) What kind of actions? The only untrusted process running is my browser iron. Is it usual for DW to block some of the browsers actions while the browser is running? Or has my browser been compromised by something?
     
  18. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Yes.

    The ones were blocked. Mostly, they are just regular.
     
  19. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    703
    Rollback Rx will automatically turn off system restore when it is installed.
     
  20. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    No I meant turning off logging in DW.:)
     
  21. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Alright, thanks Ilya! :thumbsup:
     
  22. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Ah Thanks Creer!
     
  23. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Yeah I could use Ccleaner, but SD seems like such an elegant solution to my problem. So is there any reason you are against me using SD?:)
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yes :D and that is $$$ ;) just prefer DW :)
     
  25. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Good point!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. drhu22
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    484
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.