Shadow Copy (by Runtime Software)

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by pandlouk, Jan 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Another cool freeware from Runtime Software.
    more info here.

    Panagiotis
     
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Their utilities are excellent and they are also very nice people at Runtime. I can recommend the data recovery software, disk explorer as well as the RAID Reconstructor tool as I have purchased and used them all with great success.
    They have plethora of nice freeware tools I see now. Haven't used Shadow Copy but I have now downloaded it and will try it out, cheers:thumb:
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Q is why not to use DriveIMage XML instead of this? A better option.
     
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    They do not have the same use. DriveIMage XML is for imaging, shadow copy is for copying open files.
    I want to have Windows 7 with FD-ISR and shadow copy made me think of 1-2 ways on how to achieve it.:D

    Panagiotis
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Now that makes for an interesting test idea. Copy all the files off the c: drive, and then bugger it up. Then copy the files back and see if you can boot.

    PS. Going to try it on VM machine.
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Yes, but you should replace the files of a vista image. The mbr should not be alot different.;)
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Well as I thought about it something stopped me cold. This program copies files but not track 0, so once I copy them to D:\ from C:\ how do I boot to d:\ to be able to copy them back.

    Don't see it as being an FDISR.
     
  8. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I had in mind a different approach. Image a vista partition and then replace the Vista files/folders with the 7 files/folders.
    This way you will have the the mbr and the partition boot sector from the Vista OS.I'm pretty sure that it will boot ok; I'm not so sure that FD-ISR will install ok though...

    Panagiotis
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.