SG 2.2 Runtime Error

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by bewildered, Sep 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bewildered

    bewildered Guest

    I'm getting the following error about one minute after start-up:

    -----------------------------------------------------
    Run-time error '-2147024770(8007007e)':

    Automation error
    The specified module could not be found.
    -----------------------------------------------------

    o_O

    After clicking 'OK' SG shuts itself down and disappears from the tray.

    I was getting this same error with SG 2.1. Any suggestions?

    XP Home SP1
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    That's quite interesting.

    Could you try starting SpywareGuard and then, if you don't get the error immediately, could you try quickly disabling the Browser Hijacking Protection? Please let me know if that fixes it - thanks!

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. bewildered

    bewildered Guest

    Well, actually, quite the contrary. As soon as I uncheck Browser Hijacking Protection and save the changes the same error occurs. It's not a coincidence of timing. I've tried it several times. Trying to save the change produces the error.

    After going to Task Manager and killing sgbhp.exe, I can restart SG and have plenty of time (usually) to check and uncheck the other two options and save the changes with no problem. Not the case though, with Hijacking Protection.

    Or, as I mentioned, if I do nothing, within a minute or less --there's that error.

    Thanks for your help. Javacool. You rock.

    :cool:
     
  4. bewildered

    bewildered Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Just wondering if anyone else is getting this particular Run-time error. So far, I seem to be the only one...
    :doubt:
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    I'm still looking into this error, and I haven't been able to reproduce it yet. :doubt:

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. edfink

    edfink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    hello, hope this is helpful !!!



    i'm running WinXP with all the SP's installed.
    I encountered a similar runtime error message
    2147023898 (800703e6). this is a automation
    error invalid access to memory location.

    I had installed SpywareBlaster first and then
    installed SpywareGuard. Remove both programs
    and install SpywareGuard 1st, it runs good now.
     
  7. bewildered

    bewildered Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the suggestion, edfink. Unfortunately, it didn't work. I encountered the same error I was receiving before. I thought for a moment that it had worked 'cause I seemed to have a bit more time before the error appeared, but still got the error. Oh well... :'(

    Thanks again for trying.
     
  8. Kelton

    Kelton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1
  9. Lello

    Lello Guest

    OK, I am getting the following error:

    System Error &H80070583(-2147023485)

    and nothing else... I have Win XP Pro with all SPs

    SG does not start at all, this comes up as my comp goes through the start up phase...

    I run both blaster and guard (well, when it works ;-)

    Thanks

    Jan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.