sfc /scannow

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by brihy1, Mar 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Location:
    usa
    I have windows 8.1 32bit-macrium reflect free
    when trying to backup my system with macrium it says cant read from disk.I ran a sfc /scannow and it says(image attached).Any ideas if this can be corrected?Ive ran defragment and disk error check from within windows and nothing was found.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Hi brihy1 :)

    It may be necessary in cases such as yours, to run the process more than once. Sometimes it may take 2 - 3 times running sfc /scannow in order to eventually fix the issues found.

    At the very least it is worth a try. In Windows 7, I know it can often take several runs to get a clean log, perhaps the same steps in Win 8.1 will prove successful.

    Hope that helps. As far as Macrium unable to read from disk, hard to say if it is related. If you run sfc again another 2 or 3 times and notice a clean report, next step is to try Macrium once again to see if it will image properly.

    I am assuming you are doing "hot" images from within windows and not "cold" images using the macrium boot media. If you can get a clean report from SFC, I would try a reboot and then try another attempt to use Macrium. Please report back what you have found.

    Hope you get it figured out. :)

    Jim
     
  3. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Location:
    usa
    I have ran that sfc /scannow 7 times but same result.I also uninstalled macrium and installed paragon backup free just to see if its something with macrium but paragon also says errors on drive cant start the backup.I restored a previous image with macrium but when trying to backup get the same thing.
     
  4. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Hi brihy1 :)

    Sorry to hear still no resolution.

    If you restored a previous image using macrium, then it has worked to create an image in the recent past. Do you recall what changes if any were made between the time of the image you restored until the time you noticed the read error and sfc /scannow issue?

    I am trying to follow what happened in between a successful macrium image creation and what brought your system to the point of macrium being unable to read your disk for a backup image.

    UEFI issue perhaps? Windows utilities appear to show no problems with your disk, so do you recall what may have changed recently? Software installations such as drivers, new anti-virus, etc.

    Thanks brihy1 for reporting back. Not sure what you are dealing with at this point.

    Jim
     
  5. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Location:
    usa
    The only thing ive done was to uninstall avast.But at this point I think it maybe be the drive?The pc still functions ok just cant back up an image but I have all my files backed up with skydrive so I guess ill run this pc(have 3)until it dies and replace the drive or get a new one.I appreciate you helping.
     
  6. SA Jack

    SA Jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    I've learned recently that when SFC indicates corruption it's unable to repair, I've found that doing a DISM procedure has solved the problem for me, and for a few friends and family members I recommended it to. Here's a link to a post in the Windows Eight Forum that explains this.

    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/26512-dism-fixing-component-store-corruption-windows-8-a.html

    Scroll down to "Option 1". I recommend the following commands be run, one at a time, from an "elevated" command prompt:

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

    The post recommends the RestoreHealth command only. However, the ScanHealth command will verify if corruption exists and indicate if a successful restore can be made. Once done, you're good to go with the RestoreHealth

    Hope this works for you. -SA Jack
     
  7. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Location:
    usa
    SA Jack,i followed those directions you gave and it worked.I got a clean sfc /scannow.For some reason macrium still wont backup.I tried easeus backup and it backed up fine.thank you for the help,much appreciated
     
  8. SA Jack

    SA Jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    You're welcome. Glad things worked out for you. -SA Jack
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.