sfc.exe

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TomAZ, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,002
    Location:
    USA
    Does sfc.exe work with both Windows XP and Win 7? If so, do you use it the same way on both OS versions?
     
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    You use it the same way on both operating systems, but on XP, sometimes it will ask you to insert your XP CD. There are instruction here for XP users detailing how to have sfc load any neeed files from your hard drive, so you don't get prompted for the Windows CD.

    On Vista and later operating systems, you are never asked for your Windows DVD.
     
  4. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    My - remote - experiences with sfc.exe were negative: it works restoring the system to the initial configuration and it sometimes make conflict with third part softwares that you installed. Don't ask me which softwares: unlucky I don't remember.
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    I never experienced any problems as a result of running sfc. But, on the otherhand it usually hasn't fixed problems either. It does not restore your system to the original configuaration. What is does is scan for and replace missing or corrupted system files.
     
  6. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    If you suspect system corruption due to malware, for higher assurance that malware doesn't interfere with sfc, it can be run offline.